User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  22
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 32

Thread: RAM Upgrade

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Mar 2011
    Location
    Modbury
    Posts
    784
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    RAM Upgrade

    Just picked up a Dell Optiplex 745 with 2 ram slots. specs list 533 or 667MHz ( 2 X 512M DDR 2 1RX8 5300u-555-12 @ the moment) and have been told at one store & seen a couple of articles suggesting DDR 2 800 will work.

    IS any one able to confirm this and would I have to make bios changes, if I do then I'll just go with 2 X2G 667. I am not really fussed if it does or not but 800 is easier to get locally but will get off Ebay in either format if necessary.

    thank you all you techies

  2. #2
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,644
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    according to this : http://en.community.dell.com/support.../18467231.aspx Yes it will work.

    However according to this: http://www.upenn.edu/computing/provi...tiplex745.html it shouldn't.

    Last edited by ricktas; 13-06-2013 at 6:14am.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  3. #3
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,827
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    DDR2 at any speed will work, but...

    ...

    ...
    All right, I say it: expect to pay $40 per 2GB sick of DDR2. That TWICE the PRICE of DDR3.
    Am(bankrupt after the same effort).
    CC, Image editing OK.

  4. #4
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Mar 2011
    Location
    Modbury
    Posts
    784
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys yes it is dearer but it's cheaper than a new comp. and only used for general basic tasks and only cost me $60's so the extra cost I'm alright with. Plus I'm almost ready to buy lightroom now have to decide on 4 of 5.
    4 at least has by now had the bugs sorted and still a bit cheaper. Currently out of work for past few weeks so Scrooge + @ the moment but start part a timer on monday.

  5. #5
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,827
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Poor you! S...t....r...e....t....c....h that dollar and TTGHN that belt.
    (Ie, know what you mean.)

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Mar 2011
    Location
    Modbury
    Posts
    784
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Any tighter and I'll have start wearing braces and that's not on the teeth either then look like Tim from Bargain Hunt.

    .

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    15 Jul 2010
    Location
    Forest Lake
    Posts
    1,948
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    just checked my drawers for you and I only have
    1x 512meg pc2 6400 (800)
    1x 512 meg DDR400
    1x 256meg DDR333

    Sorry, looks like I cant' help you.

    On second thoughts, I may have something on a mobo at home (assuming I haven't thrown it out yet)
    I will have a look when I get home.
    Greg Bartle,
    I have a Pentax and I'm not afraid to use it.
    Pentax K5
    Sigma 10-20 | Tamron 17-50 F:2.8 | Sigma 50 F:1.4 | Sigma 70-200 F:2.8 Plus a bunch of Ye Olde lenses


    Would you like to see more?
    http://flickr.com/photosbygreg

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Mar 2011
    Location
    Modbury
    Posts
    784
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you for trying, I'm quite ok with buying from a store or Ebay if my other possible sources turn up empty handed.

    Regards Milton

  9. #9
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,827
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have just recently looked about extensively for the same. The "best" I could get was one stick of 2GB for $30. A second was not guaranteed to be the same brand/speed/etc. I chewed the cartridge
    and bought the original equal sticks (total 4GB) for $(cough/splutter/atchoo)80. (Don't tell anyone.)
    Am(not).
    Last edited by ameerat42; 13-06-2013 at 7:57pm.

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Mar 2011
    Location
    Modbury
    Posts
    784
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I know it's annoying but as they say that's life.

    One mob in Sydney $96's for 2 x 2GB think free delivery. As I said not to worried will have a bit of time tomorrow arvo to check a couple of S/ hand places see how go thanks will let you know how I go.

    Cheers for now.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    26 Jul 2010
    Location
    Orange
    Posts
    397
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

  12. #12
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,827
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's a good price, Warus.* Never heard of the brand, though.
    Milton, your price is way too much. You don't have to get ripped off!!!
    And have you tried any of the site sponsors? (Do any sell this? - I'm sure they must.)
    Am.

    *PS: as long as postage is also cheap.
    Last edited by ameerat42; 14-06-2013 at 10:32am.

  13. #13
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Mar 2011
    Location
    Modbury
    Posts
    784
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    try local s/hand place today if no go will def. Try warus sight but will also look @ site supporters sites @ centrelink on phone it's a challenge even on a nokia E-7

  14. #14
    Ausphotography Veteran Speedway's Avatar
    Join Date
    16 Sep 2008
    Location
    Cowangie
    Posts
    2,534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I get a lot of gear from Here they list 1G from $20 and 2G from $35.
    Cheers
    Keith.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    18 Nov 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,988
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You might try this; easy to deal with in Brisbane so would as some OK in Sydney:

    http://umart.com.au/pro/products_lis...&bid=9&id2=111

    Ian
    Sony DSCR1 bridge camera; Sony Alpha SLT A57; Sony Zeiss 16-80mm f3.5-4.5 lens; Sigma 10-20mm UWA lens; converted Nikon 50mm f2.0 lens; Filters: ND4,ND8,ND1000, CP; Photoshop CS6. 82.7% of statistics are made up!




  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    15 Jul 2010
    Location
    Forest Lake
    Posts
    1,948
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Warus View Post
    I'm currently running Gskill ram in my machine, it's DDR3 and theres' 12 gigs of it, but it works well.

    One of the above sticks I mention lying in my drawers is a Gskill stick too.

  17. #17
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,827
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Speedway View Post
    I get a lot of gear from Here they list 1G from $20 and 2G from $35.
    Cheers
    Keith.
    (Been there. They were pretty helpful.)

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    18 Nov 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,988
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a Kingston DDR2 800MHz 2GB memory card, model KVR800D2N6K2/2G if anyone would like it. It's one of a pair ( the other one failed, although not old). Happy to post in Australia.

    Ian

  19. #19
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,827
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Certainly, if someone could match it with another - since so many motherboards of the age were dual channel architecture - it would be handy.
    (You didn't say 4 how much, but I don't know if you can according to the rules. -???)
    I will bear it in mind, as a rel's machine could to with another 4GB.
    Am.

  20. #20
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    28 Mar 2011
    Location
    Modbury
    Posts
    784
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank's everyone for your help. Haven't done anything yet in regards purchase but thanks for help. My son in-law recons 800 should run but haven't been able to locate anyone locally who has some I can borrow. Always the way, so just keep seeking no hurry.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •