Thread: Website Hosting

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Website Hosting

So, I've been tasked with creating an ecommerce website for work, just Great! I have very little working knowledge of HTML, or coding, so I need a package solution.

It needs to be able to process payments and track stock, as well have multiple price points, be aesthetically pleasing and run quickbooks intergration.

I've looked at using Bigcommerce and decided that I'd prefer to use an Australian based server, but they would be just about perfect.

We have an existing website, but it's terribly dated, and is only 800 px wide. I'd like to keep my google rankings (we're page 1 for a couple of products)

The Question:

Who are you using for your hosting?
    Do you have a website designer that's reasonably priced?

Is there something that you think I should know?
    Greg Bartle,
    I have a Pentax and I'm not afraid to use it.
    Pentax K5
    Sigma 10-20 | Tamron 17-50 F:2.8 | Sigma 50 F:1.4 | Sigma 70-200 F:2.8 Plus a bunch of Ye Olde lenses

Would you like to see more?
    http://flickr.com/photosbygreg

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Greg, A while ago I would have said you can do this anywhere, I would seriously consider having a look at drupal, joomla and wordpress. You can find modules to simply plug in and do what you need. There are enough people using this not to have to re-invent the wheel so to speak. You can purchase templates or themes on line and there is enough of a community to be able to help you create and deploy what you want. You can choose which database to use, mysql, postgres, oracle etc. You will want support for HTML-5 these days it is far superior to flash and more secure. Anyhow I hope this enough to get the ball rolling for your

Kind Regards
    Livio

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)