User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: X-rite i1 colour profiler problems.....

  1. #1
    Member CapnBloodbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Apr 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    333
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    X-rite i1 colour profiler problems.....

    I have a Dell 2209WA IPS monitor, and previously when I've used my X-Rite i1 calibrator it's wanted me to bring my brightness right down to about 8-12. Just tried calibrating, and my brightness is on full and apparently I'm only hitting 96ish luminance rather than the target of 120....any idea what's going on?

    Also, when adjusting the contrast, 84 sits me at the lower end of the green range where 85 puts me off the high end of the chart....

    Just did it again, now luminance is about 85....

    Anyway, I remember when I used to calibrate, it would get me to adjust my RGB settings one by one – now it doesn't. Any idea why?

  2. #2
    Who let the rabble in? Lance B's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Aug 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    8,054
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Don't know about the X-Rite i1 calibrator as I used a Spyder 3 Pro on my old Dell 2209 WA monitor and it worked fine. However, like you, sometimes when I had a few unusual readings due to me not calibrating for a while, I would get similar issues with contrast and brightness. I just upped the contrast and it helped the brightness and visa versa. Maybe up the contrast and see if it helps the brightness and it may also help the contrast setting.

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter
    CapnBloodbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Apr 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    333
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This was with brightness and contrast at max.

  4. #4
    Ausphotography Regular agb's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Sep 2010
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    825
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had that trouble once, found I still had the plastic cover on the sensor.
    The age of entitlement isn't over, it's just over there where you can't get to it.
    When several possibilities exist, the simplest solution is the best.
    "There are no rules" Bruce Barnbaum, The art of Photography
    Graham


  5. #5
    Who let the rabble in? Lance B's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Aug 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    8,054
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by CapnBloodbeard View Post
    This was with brightness and contrast at max.
    Ah, ok.

  6. #6
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,185
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by CapnBloodbeard View Post
    ......

    Anyway, I remember when I used to calibrate, it would get me to adjust my RGB settings one by one – now it doesn't. Any idea why?
    Could be an 'express' type calibration mode for the software, or that it's doing a 'recalibrate' option as opposed to a full calibration.

    Not familiar with the X-Rite's nor their software, but most software usually has this option to do a quick/recalibrate, or a full calibrate.
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Aug 2008
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,913
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    was there an option to adjust for ambient room brightness, or to specifically set a target for 120 luminance, which is what I do on the X-Rite Color Munki.
    Commercial/Editorial/Wedding work - www.jackietranphoto.com
    Travel Photography - www.wanderingasianguy.com

    Broncolor lights up my world.

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter
    CapnBloodbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Apr 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    333
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There is an option to measure ambient light, though I've never used it before. I did have the target specifically set for 120...

  9. #9
    Member
    Threadstarter
    CapnBloodbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Apr 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    333
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm, I wonder if my device is faulty – found the RGB calibration, but even if I drop the Red down to zero, the device still thinks it's off the high end of the chart....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •