User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Where to store Lightroom/Photoshop catalog/scratch disks

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Where to store Lightroom/Photoshop catalog/scratch disks

    Those who use Photoshop and Lightroom; where do you store your catalog and scratch disks? Is it worth having two separate hard drives for performance, separate from the OS/software hard drive? So like this:

    SSD: OS/Software
    SSD: Lightroom catalog/library settings
    HDD: Scratch disk
    HDD: Photographs

    - - - Updated - - -

    From what I have been reading it seems that it's alright to put scratch disks and software on the same SSD as the OS, just not on a traditional HDD.
    Last edited by wideangle; 01-03-2013 at 11:32am.
    please ask before PP my images

    "Life is what happens to you while your busy making other plans"

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    15 Jul 2010
    Location
    Forest Lake
    Posts
    1,948
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have mine on the SSD, but that's just how it happened, not by any particular choice.
    Greg Bartle,
    I have a Pentax and I'm not afraid to use it.
    Pentax K5
    Sigma 10-20 | Tamron 17-50 F:2.8 | Sigma 50 F:1.4 | Sigma 70-200 F:2.8 Plus a bunch of Ye Olde lenses


    Would you like to see more?
    http://flickr.com/photosbygreg

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sounds like it's not a common issue then, just put it on the C drive.

  4. #4
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Does anyone else use seperate HDD or SSD for catalouge/scratch disks. Is it worth extra $ for performance, or just have eveything on a single drive such as the OS?

  5. #5
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,604
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I have Lightroom and PS running on an SSD. My scratch disk is an internal 2tb drive and my photos are stored on an external USB3 3tb drive. This external drive only has photos on it (nothing else). It is backed up, on the fly to two other external USB drives and my 12TB NAS box as well (The NAS backs-up everything I have on all my drives.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    I have Lightroom and PS running on an SSD. My scratch disk is an internal 2tb drive and my photos are stored on an external USB3 3tb drive. This external drive only has photos on it (nothing else). It is backed up, on the fly to two other external USB drives and my 12TB NAS box as well (The NAS backs-up everything I have on all my drives.
    You haven't had any performance issues with putting lightroom catalouge onto the OS SSD drive? Assuming you are putting it there? I have heard that that the writes to an SSD shorten the lifespan of an SSD more quikly than a HDD drive over time, but I guess things are improving with them?

    Re your scratch disk, did you choose 2TB for a reason, would 1TB suffice?

  7. #7
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,604
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    It works fine for me, I chose the 2tb cause that is what I had as an internal HDD, no other reason.

  8. #8
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    It works fine for me, I chose the 2tb cause that is what I had as an internal HDD, no other reason.
    cool, I wonder how much the scratch disk actually needs/uses.

  9. #9
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    I have Lightroom and PS running on an SSD. My scratch disk is an internal 2tb drive and my photos are stored on an external USB3 3tb drive. This external drive only has photos on it (nothing else). It is backed up, on the fly to two other external USB drives and my 12TB NAS box as well (The NAS backs-up everything I have on all my drives.
    Hello Rick, following up on my initial question, I found some interesting information that states that if you run your SSD drives as your operating system then it's more effective to leave the scratch disk on there, rather then a separate drive. If you run a HDD as your OS then you should have a separate drive for scratch. Link here >http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/kb/..._Scratch_Disks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •