User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Have you made the move to SSD hard drive?

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Have you made the move to SSD hard drive?

    Who has made the move to having SSD as their boot drive and if so does this component improve performance in photo editing applications? Or do other things such as the CPU and amount of RAM have a larger bearing on how photo applications operate?
    please ask before PP my images

    "Life is what happens to you while your busy making other plans"

  2. #2
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,128
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    yes and yes. Start up time is massively improved, I can push the on button and have lightroom and photoshop open and ready to go in under 60 seconds. but I am using 24gb ram and a 5ghz processor as well. SSD's are designed to be written to once and ready from repeatedly, so put your main programs on the SSD and have you files on a HDD.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  3. #3
    Who let the rabble in? Lance B's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Aug 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    7,622
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes and definitely yes! My SSD is super fast and doesn't slow down even when your SS drive is quite full. Like Rick says, put all your main programs on the SSD and all your files on HDD's. Best thing I ever did was to go SSD!

  4. #4
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,633
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    SSD for the system drive and a pair or 2TB mirrored disks to store the photos!
    regards, Kym Gallery Honest & Direct Constructive Critique Appreciated! ©
    Digital & film, Bits of glass covering 10mm to 500mm, and other stuff



  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Mar 2012
    Location
    Flinders View
    Posts
    435
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Have you made the move to SSD hard drive?

    The move to SSD is amazing. My Win 7 laptop boots up in 20 seconds and PS opens in 3!! Never had so much performance increase for such a small outlay in 20 years of computing.
    Cheers,
    Ian

    All the 7's: D700, D7000, D70

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    yes and yes. Start up time is massively improved, I can push the on button and have lightroom and photoshop open and ready to go in under 60 seconds. but I am using 24gb ram and a 5ghz processor as well. SSD's are designed to be written to once and ready from repeatedly, so put your main programs on the SSD and have you files on a HDD.
    Where do store the information such as scratch disks or things like Lightroom preview files etc, on the SSD?

  7. #7
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,633
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Put your scratch data on the magnetic disks!
    Also move your pagefile to the magnetic disk.
    Just keep OS + software on the SSD.
    Try and keep your SSD not more than 70% full as well.

    Why? They have a limited (relatively) life in terms of write cycles.
    http://www.storagesearch.com/ssdmyths-endurance.html
    http://lifehacker.com/5802838/how-to...fe-of-your-ssd
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solid-state_drive

  8. #8
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    14 Jan 2013
    Location
    Tamworth
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have one at work (where I do a lot of my editing) and thankfully I work in IT, so we are on top of latest technology. I love it, and am in the process of updating my home machine with one aswell. CS5 opens almost instantly and the boot time is just incredible. a HUGE fan.

  9. #9
    Still in the Circle of Confusion Cage's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Posts
    4,562
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm hovering now the prices have become more realistic.

    Any 'must haves' or 'steer clear of's' to be aware of.
    Cheers
    Kev

    D800 & GAS

  10. #10
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Kym View Post
    Put your scratch data on the magnetic disks!
    Also move your pagefile to the magnetic disk.
    Just keep OS + software on the SSD.
    Try and keep your SSD not more than 70% full as well.

    Why? They have a limited (relatively) life in terms of write cycles.
    http://www.storagesearch.com/ssdmyths-endurance.html
    http://lifehacker.com/5802838/how-to...fe-of-your-ssd
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solid-state_drive

    Why do you put all "other data" on a magnetic disk as opposed to SSD? Would it be even more effective to have 3 drives: SSD for OS/Software + Magnetic HDD for image files + Another Magnetic HDD for scratch disc etc?
    Last edited by wideangle; 15-01-2013 at 8:25am.

  11. #11
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,128
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wideangle View Post
    Where do store the information such as scratch disks or things like Lightroom preview files etc, on the SSD?
    Your scratch disc should ALWAYS be a different disc to your program and files storate disk. This is the recommended way by adobe. I have my SSD, and 2 x HDD in my PC, an external HDD and my NAS backup attached at all times. So PS is on the SSD, my working copy of my photos are on one HDD and the second HDD is my scratch disc (and holds a backup of my 1st HDD and my SSD). The external HDD holds another backup of my SSD and files, and the NAS is a 5 HDD array with a backup of everything. I then have another HDD that is stored at friends with another copy of all my files.

  12. #12
    Account Closed Wayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Dec 2009
    Location
    Eastside
    Posts
    1,639
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have made the switch, when I got the new Macbook Pro Retina for Christmas. I haven't even opened it yet though..

  13. #13
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ricktas View Post
    Your scratch disc should ALWAYS be a different disc to your program and files storate disk. This is the recommended way by adobe. I have my SSD, and 2 x HDD in my PC, an external HDD and my NAS backup attached at all times. So PS is on the SSD, my working copy of my photos are on one HDD and the second HDD is my scratch disc (and holds a backup of my 1st HDD and my SSD). The external HDD holds another backup of my SSD and files, and the NAS is a 5 HDD array with a backup of everything. I then have another HDD that is stored at friends with another copy of all my files.
    Interesting, so you can also store other data on the HDD along with the scratch disc without effecting performance? Do you also store Lightroom preview data etc on the scratch HDD? How big would you recommend the HDD be for storing scratch data be?

  14. #14
    Sir Rattus79 - The Proclaimant
    Join Date
    15 Jul 2010
    Location
    Forest Lake
    Posts
    1,948
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Since no one else has said it, I will.

    SSD's are fantastic for Gaming!!

    My FPS's had a decided increase when I installed mine.

    Unlike Rick, I've only got 16 gig of ram though and a 4.8 gig processor (overclock from 3.2 gig)
    Greg Bartle,
    I have a Pentax and I'm not afraid to use it.
    Pentax K5
    Sigma 10-20 | Tamron 17-50 F:2.8 | Sigma 50 F:1.4 | Sigma 70-200 F:2.8 Plus a bunch of Ye Olde lenses


    Would you like to see more?
    http://flickr.com/photosbygreg

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    27 Feb 2011
    Location
    Geelong
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have my programs and OS on an ssd vertex 4 it’s amazing the speed difference . As stated above write cycles are limited so best to keep magnetic hds for storage and scratch disks .I don’t believe a page file is even needed with a ssd as its faster at retrieving ,also I don’t use the recycle bin on my ssd, that’s ok because I store everything on other drives so when it gets deleted it’s on those drives not taking up space on the ssd .It was very easy to set up using Acronis true image no need to reinstall all programs .I have a ssd 256GB , 3 by 2TB hdds, 2TB WD my book and a 4TB NAS backup all running smoothly and faster since the ssd .I have lots of music HD video and photos so space it utilized. It’s the way of the future we just need larger for cheaper !
    Last edited by bladesp2; 15-01-2013 at 9:34am.

  16. #16
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,128
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wideangle View Post
    Interesting, so you can also store other data on the HDD along with the scratch disc without effecting performance? Do you also store Lightroom preview data etc on the scratch HDD? How big would you recommend the HDD be for storing scratch data be?
    yes, it is about read/write. If you are not using the disk for other things at the same time. The issue occurs when you are reading the image files from the drive, writting the scratch stuff to the same drive, playing some music from the same drive. It all slows down the read/write times. As long as you are not accessing the scratch disk for other stuff, it leaves it to do its job.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    01 Jul 2012
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    397
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nothing like a 13 second boot (9 second shutdown) on my Asus ultrabook; from pressing power button to a ready desktop... SSDs are win.

    I also have an SSD for my main PC for boot + key programmes - have 1 TB for storage and 500GB for important backup.
    Cheers, Troy

    D800; AF-S 24-70mm f/2.8G; AF-S 50mm 1.8G; SB-910; || 120-300mm f/2.8 DG OS HSM 'S'; APO Teleconverter 2x DG || Phantom 2; H32D Gimbal; 5.8Ghz FPV LCD GS

  18. #18
    It's all about the Light!
    Tech Admin
    Kym's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2008
    Location
    Modbury, Adelaide
    Posts
    9,633
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wideangle View Post
    Why do you put all "other data" on a magnetic disk as opposed to SSD? Would it be even more effective to have 3 drives: SSD for OS/Software + Magnetic HDD for image files + Another Magnetic HDD for scratch disc etc?
    You can, I just made a basic suggestion.
    For a really fast setup have a 2nd SSD just for scratch.


    Backup is still critical! See: http://www.ausphotography.net.au/for...p_and_Recovery

  19. #19
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    wideangle's Avatar
    Join Date
    28 Sep 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    1,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can other programs that use background data like photoshop scratch such as Lightroom be put on the same HDD ?
    Last edited by wideangle; 16-01-2013 at 10:56am.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •