User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Need advice for taking picture of fogging landscape

  1. #1
    Member fadiya's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Nov 2011
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Need advice for taking picture of fogging landscape

    Hi all,
    could anyone tell me how to take a good picture of fogging landscape (I hope the term is right...).
    here are some of my pictures.... and as you will see I really need some helps....

    IMG_4893ap.jpg

    IMG_4403ap.jpg

    IMG_4856ap.jpg

    Thanks
    Fadiya

  2. #2
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,814
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Dunno how to take good ones, sorry! But consider that fog and mist is often used in photos to show distance and perspective.
    Some striking scenery is a good start, and your last two look pretty good. A bit of judicious contrast in tones would probably help, but that's PP (post processing)
    and you have to get the image first. See below for examples just quickly done using Photoshop...
    Am.

    Foggy1 by Fadiya
    foggy2.jpg

    Foggy2 by Fadiya
    foggy1.jpg
    CC, Image editing OK.

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter
    fadiya's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Nov 2011
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks!, I am not really good with PP usually I only use the auto level to make the picture looks better and a bit of sharpening
    may I know the steps that you used to edit the pictures?

  4. #4
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by fadiya View Post
    Thanks!, I am not really good with PP usually I only use the auto level to make the picture looks better and a bit of sharpening
    may I know the steps that you used to edit the pictures?
    what editing software do you have?
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  5. #5
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,814
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hang on, can I tell you I had a major crash since since and soon after I posted that? OK, well, I did.

    ^ good question from RIck.

    My s/w is Adobe Photoshop, V CS2.
    The steps I used were....
    Auto Contrast.
    Mild Shadow/Highlight, with a low range for shadows and a mild reduction in highlights.
    I did that for each picture.
    Am.

  6. #6
    Member
    Threadstarter
    fadiya's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Nov 2011
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mine is CS5 (I think... Rarely use it and just shutting down my laptop so can't check it.... Sorry...)

  7. #7
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    If it is CS5 consider getting a copy of this : http://www.dymocks.com.au/ProductDet...9#.UPJmRTeH-So

    if it not CS5 look for the version for your version of phtotoshop. Scott's books are easy to follow and are basically a great tutorial in how to start editing your photos and by the end of the book you will be amazing yourself at how proficient you have become.

  8. #8
    Member
    Threadstarter
    fadiya's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Nov 2011
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you very much Rick,
    I'll definitetly looking for it

  9. #9
    Ausphotography irregular Mark L's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Nov 2010
    Location
    magical Mudgee
    Posts
    18,827
    Mentioned
    26 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your exposure bias says +0.33 EV. I don't think you need that.
    Do you shoot Raw or jpeg?
    "Enjoy what you can do rather than being frustrated at what you can't." bobt
    Canon 80D, 60D, Canon 28-105, Sigma 150-600S.

  10. #10
    Member
    Threadstarter
    fadiya's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Nov 2011
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    jpeg, exposure bias? it seems I forgot to set it back to 0 after playing a bit with it..... It happens all the time for me....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •