User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Possible Flash Problems

  1. #1
    Member stephendean's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Oct 2006
    Location
    Salisbury, SA
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Possible Flash Problems

    Hi there,

    I have just purchased a Canon EOS 650D and I am very happy with it. The only problem that I have encountered is with my Sigma EF-500DG Super EO- ETTL II. It occasional spits the dummy. Now looking around the net I noticed that some people reckon that this flash is not compatable with the Canon 650D. What are your thoughts?
    I know I need to play with it a bit more to get familiar are there any tips etc?
    Or is it time to look for another flash?
    Cheers
    Stephen
    Canon Fan from way back
    http://stephendeanphotography.wordpress.com/ My Photo Blog
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/skdean60/ Some of My Photos

  2. #2
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,137
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    when you say it spits the dummy, what exactly does it do. We cannot assist if we do not know the actual facts surrounding what you are doing at the time, what the flash does, what error mesages etc.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter
    stephendean's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Oct 2006
    Location
    Salisbury, SA
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It doesn't always adjust the zoom function to match the lens. It was okay with my 400d.
    Last edited by stephendean; 06-01-2013 at 12:06pm.

  4. #4
    Account Closed Wayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Dec 2009
    Location
    Eastside
    Posts
    1,639
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can't help with a Canon/Sigma combo, however with Nikon body/strobe the strobe head will only zoom with the lens in iTTL/iTTL-FP(hi speed sync) mode. In manual, A, Gn etc it wont.Check the Sigma website to see if the specs recommend it is compatible with the 650D

  5. #5
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,137
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Also check the contacts both on the flash and on the flash mounting on your camera, they might just need a clean, as dirty contacts can do all sorts of weird and wonderful things to the way our camera system interacts.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    20 May 2010
    Location
    Gladstone
    Posts
    282
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have the same problem with two Sigma Flashes which i use with my Pentax K10D and most times its the contacts between camera and flash . Pain in the Kollou but one has to shove n move the flash back n forth the hotshoe fitting timll the acknowledges its there!!..
    We didnt inherit this land, we merely borrow it from our Children

  7. #7
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    09 Nov 2009
    Location
    Kalgoorlie
    Posts
    1,153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had the same issue with a Canon 580EXII on several Canon cameras. After a bit of research it turned out that the little diffuser that flips down over the flash bulb (or the little white card in the same spot) was not pushed all the way back when put away and this caused it to lock to a certain zoom - low end as I recall. So, all I did is make sure I pushed that all the way back and it now works fine.

    Not sure if it will apply to your flash and I hope it makes sense lol.

    ps, check out dpreview, there is some info in there about a firmware update.

  8. #8
    Ausphotography Irregular Warbler's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Jul 2012
    Location
    Rockyview
    Posts
    1,962
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by fess67 View Post
    I had the same issue with a Canon 580EXII on several Canon cameras. After a bit of research it turned out that the little diffuser that flips down over the flash bulb (or the little white card in the same spot) was not pushed all the way back when put away and this caused it to lock to a certain zoom - low end as I recall. So, all I did is make sure I pushed that all the way back and it now works fine.

    Not sure if it will apply to your flash and I hope it makes sense lol.

    ps, check out dpreview, there is some info in there about a firmware update.
    That caught me the first time too. That extra diffuser is for wide shots and when deployed, it uses 17mm as the default zoom. Another one to watch is if you tilt the head of the 580 downwards. It does the same thing. It displays a warning on the LCD disply though.

    Doesn't help the OP with his problem though. Sorry.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •