User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: HELP! Unable to upload to Lr or PSE :(

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    22 Jan 2011
    Location
    Goolwa
    Posts
    3,777
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    HELP! Unable to upload to Lr or PSE :(

    Hoping someone can help me.

    Wanting to edit my Christmas photos and when I used both the camera or the card to upload my photos to Lr, a message says

    "The following files were not imported because they could not be read"

    I then tried to import to PSE, but nothing happens, not even a message.

    I have never encountered this problem before.
    Monika
    Equipment: Canon 60D, Nikon FE, Nikkor 50mm 1.8 lens, Fancier FT-662A tripod, 18-55mm kit lens, 55-250mm kit lens, 30mm 1.4 Sigma lens, LR4, PS Elements
    Check out my Flickr photos ... http://www.flickr.com/photos/missmonny/
    ... and then you can like me on www.facebook.com/PhotoByMB or see my shop on http://www.redbubble.com/people/msmonny



  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    07 Apr 2009
    Location
    Maleny, Qld
    Posts
    423
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can you still view them in camera?
    if so.. can you try importing them on another computer?
    - Daz
    weathers good.. bird pics .... weathers bad .. storm pics..
    do or do not.. ...stop ya procrastinating!!!!
    Canon EOS 60D, Sigma 120-400mm F4.5-5.6 APO DG OS, EOS 300D, Canon EF 28-80mm 3.5-5.6 IV, Canon EF 35-70mm 3.5-4.5, Canon EF 50mm 1.8

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jan 2011
    Location
    Goolwa
    Posts
    3,777
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can view them in the camera, and also in Lr when I am chosing which ones to import.

    I can't put them on to another computer as I don't have the software to do so (these are RAW) and I don't want to upload Lr onto the other computer, then try and forward all the pics as they are big files.

    Do you think it is the computer?? I have been having trouble opening my email and had to repair my iTunes as well.

  4. #4
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,129
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    can you just use windows explorer to copy them from the card to say a folder on your desktop?
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    22 Jan 2011
    Location
    Goolwa
    Posts
    3,777
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmm, might see if that works....and then import them from the folder??

    Will try now.....

    - - - Updated - - -

    Thanks Rick, it worked! Certainly don't want to do it that way all the time....lets hope it sorts itself out!

  6. #6
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,129
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Ms Monny View Post
    hmm, might see if that works....and then import them from the folder??

    Will try now.....

    - - - Updated - - -

    Thanks Rick, it worked! Certainly don't want to do it that way all the time....lets hope it sorts itself out!
    Ok that means it is an issue between LR/PSE and your camera. Have you downloaded all the latest updates for the software? Go into the software, under Help > Check for updates. If it finds some, install and repeat the check for updates till it finds no more.

  7. #7
    Perpetually Bewildered fillum's Avatar
    Join Date
    13 Sep 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,119
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't know about Canon, but on my Nikon there are a couple of options for USB connections. Maybe check if it's the same on your 60D and that you have the correct option set. (Although it's odd that you could still see the images in LR but not import them).



    Cheers.
    Phil.

    Some Nikon stuff. I shoot Mirrorless and Mirrorlessless.


  8. #8
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,701
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Ms Monny View Post
    hmm, might see if that works....and then import them from the folder??

    Will try now.....

    - - - Updated - - -

    Thanks Rick, it worked! Certainly don't want to do it that way all the time....lets hope it sorts itself out!


    Quote Originally Posted by fillum View Post
    I don't know about Canon, but on my Nikon there are a couple of options for USB connections.
    Couldn't be part of the problem as the connection to the PC is confirmed and working via Windows Explorer(so it seems).

    To track the issue, maybe the OP should also re confirm the connection via another image related software(DPP comes to mind) and see if transferring to the PC works in this manner also.

    This will confirm that LR/PSE are the culprits .. and if this is the case, then it's most likely that the built in transfer software(would that be Bridge??) will be the cause of the issue.
    Both those software should share a mutual interface to the USB/camera interface.

    To the OP:
    Once you realised there was an issue with your software recognising the files on the camera/card did you try a PC reboot to see if that would help?
    Also! .. did you connect the camera directly to the PC or did you connect the card via a card reader?
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •