User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  13
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Using the clone tool

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    30 Mar 2011
    Location
    Greenwith Adelaide
    Posts
    488
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Using the clone tool

    Hi i wondered if anybody could help with a bit of advice on how to use the clone tool in elements 9. Are there any good tutorials anywhere ?

    What i am after is trying to remove the power cables from this image. Is it really difficult ? Not really sure if i have the skills to do it but will give it a go.

    Thanks Ruski


    Canola Field 2 by Ruskiman, on Flickr

  2. #2
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,647
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    work slowly, use about 15% opacity, work in small sections and undo if it mucks up. Choose different source points regularly. Slowly build up your cloning of each section.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    17 Sep 2012
    Location
    Ryde
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't have much experience with PE, but it should work as it is with Photoshop.

    IMHO removing power lines in your picture is a bit tough due to the background (trees). Unless you are really really careful in cloning them one by one, you will end up having a "cloned" leaves vs. power lines.

    I would leave the power line as is or convert the picture to B&W to minimize the distraction.

    Good luck!
    Last edited by ricktas; 06-10-2012 at 6:12am.
    Beaten up OMD EM-5 with lots of gaffer tapes + some tiny lenses

  4. #4
    Ausphotography Regular J.davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Dec 2008
    Location
    Willowbank
    Posts
    1,154
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tried a quik grab at it and used 100% opacity and cloned from under and too the left of the lines. When finished I wnt back and cloned at a different area (down right) and cleaned up any obvious imperfections.
    Hope I helped.


    Regards
    John
    Nikon D750, Sigma 105mm OS Macro, Tokina 16-28 F2.8, Sigma 24-105 Art, Sigma 150-600C,
    Benro Tripod and Monopod with Arca plates

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    30 Mar 2011
    Location
    Greenwith Adelaide
    Posts
    488
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks to all for your replies.

    That looks great John, i have tried tonight and it looks terrible. Can i ask what size brush you used.

    I think i need lots of practice.
    Last edited by Ruski; 05-10-2012 at 10:33pm.

  6. #6
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,647
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    you are right. cloning does take practice to perfect. take this chance to get lots of practice.

  7. #7
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,827
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You have set yourself a hard task with this example!!! All the above comments apply, so I won't add. As a little "helping hand" - I don't know how proficient you are with shortcuts - try this technique.
    With the clone tool selected from the toolbar:
    Alt + Left mouse click selects the source area you want to use to clone over the target area
    Alt + Right mouse click brings up the little tool parameters box, size, etc.
    Ctrl Z is an undo of immediate last action
    Alt + Ctrl Z is an undo of earlier actions.

    If you get confused with where you are with your Undos, check the History palette.

    And now back to your problem, as I had a thought: As an alternative to the Clone Tool, try the Healing/Spot Healing brush tool.

    Dig liberally into the good luck jar.
    Am.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  8. #8
    Ausphotography Regular J.davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    17 Dec 2008
    Location
    Willowbank
    Posts
    1,154
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is a capture of the tool bar from Elements 9 that I used to clone out your power lines.
    Hope it helps.


    Capture.jpg


    For some reason when I use the image uploader, it produces two images - sorry for that.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    30 Mar 2011
    Location
    Greenwith Adelaide
    Posts
    488
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    About halfway any good or give up ....eyes need a rest.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    19 Oct 2011
    Location
    Klemzig
    Posts
    1,107
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Ruski, You are dong great. Very clean job so far.
    Canon 60D; EFS 55-250mm; EFS 18-55mm; 50mm
    All CC very welcome. I'm keen to learn.


  11. #11
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    30 Mar 2011
    Location
    Greenwith Adelaide
    Posts
    488
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Greg.

    Here is the final image.

    Thanks to all for the advice, nice to learn something new. Will still need to practice but at least i have some idea.



    Canola Field 3 by Ruskiman, on Flickr

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    13 Mar 2012
    Location
    Flinders View
    Posts
    435
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Using the clone tool

    Well done Ruski. Looks great. You now have another tool in your arsenal.
    Cheers,
    Ian

    All the 7's: D700, D7000, D70

  13. #13
    Loves The Wildlife. Mary Anne's Avatar
    Join Date
    19 Dec 2009
    Location
    Brisbane Southside.
    Posts
    36,105
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Totally agree I think you did well also

    I shoot with Canon And Olympus Cameras



  14. #14
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    06 Aug 2012
    Location
    Semaphore
    Posts
    530
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You've done a great job That was not the easiest task to pick for your first attempt at cloning! cheers Deb

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    17 Sep 2012
    Location
    Ryde
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    and I always thought that removing pimples is the easiest cloning practise one can get LOL ..

    great job!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •