User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  2
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Satellite L750D

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Irregular Warbler's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Jul 2012
    Location
    Rockyview
    Posts
    1,956
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Satellite L750D

    I recently bought a Toshiba Satellite L750D laptop, and I'm just having a few issues with configuring it to get the best performance for Photoshop. It's got an AMD A6 Quad-Core CPU and 16GB of RAM, but it never seems to use more than about 3.5GB of that RAM. It also has "crossfire" technology which means it is capable of switching between the on-board graphics processor and the dedicated graphics card.

    The specs say it should be reasonably quick and the Windows performance indicator says it is, but it is noticeably slower when running batches in Photoshop than my desktop is.

    Anybody else got this problem with AMD stuff? Someone else I know has a similar problem and says AMD chips and Photoshop can be a problem with not using all cores. Anybody else heard of it?

    TIA
    Tim

  2. #2
    The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday
    Join Date
    27 Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    549
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Warbler View Post
    I16GB of RAM, but it never seems to use more than about 3.5GB of that RAM
    What OS are you running? You need 64bit version to utilise over 4GB.

    John

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Irregular
    Threadstarter
    Warbler's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Jul 2012
    Location
    Rockyview
    Posts
    1,956
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry John. I forgot to put the OS details in. It's Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit. I managed to get it to use all the RAM by opening 280 full res jpegs in one go. So it knows it's there. It's obviously the processor/HDD combo that is the bottleneck. The HDD is 5.9 on the Windows PI and the RAM is 7.3. I only use it as a backup processor when my desktop is busy.

    Thanks for your help though. I appreciate it.

    Cheers,
    Tim

  4. #4
    Ausphotography Irregular
    Threadstarter
    Warbler's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Jul 2012
    Location
    Rockyview
    Posts
    1,956
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I borrowed a laptop from a local wedding photographer who I helped with a shoot last weekend. It is the same model as mine. Used it to upload and process some images. It was only marginally better than mine. He had an SSD in his. He did have a USB3 card reader though, and that was MUCH faster. I think I might have just bought too slow a CPU. Probably should have gone for an i7.

  5. #5
    I am older than I look. peterb666's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Oct 2009
    Location
    Tura Beach, NSW
    Posts
    3,593
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Satellite L750D

    I have an Asus with an A8 processor and 8gb ram usb3 and 750 gb hdd to replace my Toshiba L500 Pentiun dual core 2300 (pre i3) and the A8 processor is only incremantally quicker at most things.

    Big plus is that I never run out of memory now. The main problem I had with the Toshiba was memory as I couldn't get it to work with Win7 64bit so stuck with 3 gb ram.

    Dissappointed with the graphics performance of the AMD's Radon chip and 2 gb of memory whuch is no better than the Toshiba's Radon with 512 kb.

    Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
    Cheers

    PeterB666


    Visit my 52/2011 My photos on Flickr. On Model Mayhem now (fortunately not as a model) My new blogsite!

    Olympus OM-D E-M5 with Metabones Speed Booster and Nikon 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5 - almost as insanely wicked as sin itself.

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Irregular
    Threadstarter
    Warbler's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Jul 2012
    Location
    Rockyview
    Posts
    1,956
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mine has the AMD A6-3400M. I can't see it on this list. http://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html

    Too late for me to change now. Should have done some more research before opening my wallet.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •