User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  1

Thread: PTLens - anyone use it?

Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

PTLens - anyone use it?

I was wondering if anyone here uses PTlens to fix lens distortion? At present I tend to just do distortion corrections using Photoshop, but PTlens has been around for years and is calibrated for each lens and knows how that lens performs and corrects images based on the lens information in its database.

As a landscaper, I often find I have to correct bowed horizons or when doing the occasional architectural shoot, fix the leaning buildings. So I was wondering if anyone has given PTlens a go and what they think of the results (it gets very favourable reviews)
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

RICK
    My Photography

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Rick. I have given it a go and it seems to perform quite well. Still umming and ahhring whether to buy it (I downloaded the trial version, works for 10 images...or so the website says), but at US$25 it isn't that expensive.
    The only image I have tried it on is an old one and it picked up the Canon 400D and it's 18-55mm 'kit' lens (photo was taken @18mm) from the EXIF data in the image OK, but I had to convert the image to JPEG first as it didn't recognise the CR2 RAW format although it was quite happy with TIFF images. Haven't tried it on an image from my 550D yet.