User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  3

View Poll Results: Do you use DNG?

Voters
42. You may not vote on this poll
  • No

    25 59.52%
  • Yes

    14 33.33%
  • Sometimes

    3 7.14%
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Do you use DNG?

  1. #1
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    08 May 2009
    Location
    Buninyong
    Posts
    1,235
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Do you use DNG?

    Do you use DNG, if so why?

    - - - Updated - - -

    I should add some context...I shoot raw when I can and just don't see the point in making the step to DNG in the workflow. To me it is just another step that takes time and could affect image quality. I'm unsure of the benefits, I've heard people say it will be a standard and therefore be future proof, but in this day and age, I can't imagine the likes of the major raw file types being unsupported any times soon.
    Last edited by etherial; 29-06-2012 at 7:42pm.
    Mic

    Photography is the art of telling stories with light.

    www.michaelgoulding.com

  2. #2
    Other side of the hill ...
    Join Date
    22 Jun 2010
    Location
    Lake Macquarie
    Posts
    4,880
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by etherial View Post
    Do you use DNG, if so why?

    - - - Updated - - -

    I should add some context...I shoot raw when I can and just don't see the point in making the step to DNG in the workflow. To me it is just another step that takes time and could affect image quality. I'm unsure of the benefits, I've heard people say it will be a standard and therefore be future proof, but in this day and age, I can't imagine the likes of the major raw file types being unsupported any times soon.
    I didn't respond to the survey because the option I needed wasn't there; I used to.

    When I was a Pentax shooter I preferred DNG (Adobe RAW) to PEF (Pentax RAW), even though the native had more data available. I was always concerned that PEF format wasn't supported in some software and didn't want to get tied to Pentax's proprietary editing software.

    Now I shoot Nikon I shoot NEF (Nikon RAW) and don't bother with DNG. That said, I read something the other day that made me cringe about how future software may not support some formats in a few years ... even the big brand name formats. The article was calling for an industry-endorsed standard RAW format and postulated that DNG was the likely candidate at the moment.

    With the proliferation of new professional-standard P&S cameras, such as the upcoming Sony RX-100, it may be that there will need to be a shake out of RAW formats or the software just won't maintain it past a given date. Already a number of the major processing packages are dropping support for older formats; even some from Nikon and Canon ... at least so I believe.
    Last edited by WhoDo; 29-06-2012 at 8:00pm.
    Waz
    Be who you are and say what you mean, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind - Dr. Seuss...
    D700 | D7000 | Nikkor AF-S 18-55 DX 1:3.5-5.6G | Nikkor AF-S 55-300 DX 1:4.5-5.6 G ED | Nikkor AF 50 f/1.8D | Optex OPM2930 tripod/monopod | Enthusiasm ...
    My Flickr images ...

  3. #3
    keen learner of new tricks.
    Join Date
    09 Feb 2009
    Location
    Newcastle, NSW
    Posts
    8,372
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I convert Raw to a jpeg copy via DNG. I only do this after a trip as the cards fill too fast shooting raw + jpeg. There must be a way to do a straight conversion without DNG and I`ll have to do more homework to find it out (if it exists that is).
    Graeme
    "May the good Lord look down and smile upon your face"......Norman Gunston___________________________________________________
    Nikon: D7000, D80, 12-24 f4, 17-55 f2.8, 18-135, 70-300VR, 35f2, SB 400, SB 600, TC-201 2x converter. Tamron: 90 macro 2.8 Kenko ext. tubes. Photoshop CS2.


  4. #4
    Other side of the hill ...
    Join Date
    22 Jun 2010
    Location
    Lake Macquarie
    Posts
    4,880
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by old dog View Post
    I convert Raw to a jpeg copy via DNG. I only do this after a trip as the cards fill too fast shooting raw + jpeg. There must be a way to do a straight conversion without DNG and I`ll have to do more homework to find it out (if it exists that is).
    There is, Graeme. It's called Adobe Camera Raw (in Photoshop and Lightroom) if you have it, or you can use something like UFRaw, RawTherapee or whatever to go from your native Nikon NEF files to JPG. What software do you use, mate? You can also use Capture NX2 software for your Nikon I believe.
    Last edited by WhoDo; 29-06-2012 at 8:09pm.

  5. #5
    Account Closed Wayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Dec 2009
    Location
    Eastside
    Posts
    1,639
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I convert all my raw files to DNG upon import.

    I hate sidecar files, if you lose them, misplace them your edit instructions are gone, so you see the RAW. DNG embeds the sidecar file so it is much cleaner. Size is also more beneficial, and if I want to keep the RAW file embedded into the DNG I can, but it does make huge files by doing so.

  6. #6
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,209
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I just use NEF. The DNG convertor works well as a stand-alone product and if some of the proprietary RAW formats are not readable in future, then I can use the DNG convertor to change them at that time.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  7. #7
    keen learner of new tricks.
    Join Date
    09 Feb 2009
    Location
    Newcastle, NSW
    Posts
    8,372
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Waz......I use ACR and CS5 but when I tried to do it...no go. It came up with a box that said something about....`cannot perform this function as the feathering tool was in action` or something very close to that. I went searching and could not for the life of me find the problem. Drat I said so I went the DNG way.

  8. #8
    Other side of the hill ...
    Join Date
    22 Jun 2010
    Location
    Lake Macquarie
    Posts
    4,880
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by old dog View Post
    Waz......I use ACR and CS5 but when I tried to do it...no go. It came up with a box that said something about....`cannot perform this function as the feathering tool was in action` or something very close to that. I went searching and could not for the life of me find the problem. Drat I said so I went the DNG way.
    That's a shame, Graeme, because ACR as part of Lightroom works fine for me in converting NEF. Do you start ACR from within CS5? Have you tried just using the "Open With" option to choose ACR directly? Your error sounds like a problem in CS5 rather than ACR.

    @etherial - my apologies for hijacking your thread. Graeme and I will take the discussion to PM if you wish.
    Last edited by WhoDo; 30-06-2012 at 10:40am.

  9. #9
    Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    08 May 2009
    Location
    Buninyong
    Posts
    1,235
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No, it's fine, it all contributes to the discussion around DNG and why people might be using it. Someone else might have the same issues and might learn something from it.

  10. #10
    keen learner of new tricks.
    Join Date
    09 Feb 2009
    Location
    Newcastle, NSW
    Posts
    8,372
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks Waz for the info.. Might take you up on trying to overcome the problem.

  11. #11
    Formerly : Apollo62 ApolloLXII's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Aug 2010
    Location
    Montmorency
    Posts
    478
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Initially, I didn't convert any of my RAW files to DNG but have only just started doing so as a means of ensuring that I can be able to access the files if my native ARW files become outdated through advancements in editing software that may no longer support it or the introduction of a standard RAW format.

  12. #12
    Ready to Print Wayno's Avatar
    Join Date
    09 Jan 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    490
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I import my photos as DNG through Lightroom. I also back up my original photos as CR2 (Canon user) to another directory.
    I'm not sure what will happen with future support with my generic CR2 files, so if there is a standard RAW format used in the future, and the DNG format is adopted then I'll be set.
    Also, as with reasons mentioned above there are no sidecar files to worry about with DNG.

    Canon user and abuser.


  13. #13
    The Commander mikew09's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 May 2009
    Location
    Lowood, Queenland
    Posts
    4,289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yep - I am a DNG convert. I lost a load of settings when I didnt realise he sidecar files were not being copied to my mirror drive. Found out the hard way that RAW (Canon user) needed the additional file. I also had some issues with external editor too that wasnt light room aware so when you editored the file you had issues.

    DNG is a much more portable file and all programs I use support the format.
    Please be honest with your Critique of my images. I may not always agree, but I will not be offended - CC assists my learning and is always appreciated

    http://mikeathome.fotomerchant.com/

    Canon 5D3 - Gripped, EF 70-200 L 4 USM, , 24-105 L 5 IS USM, 580 EX II Speedlite, 2x 430 Ex II Speedlite


  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Aug 2008
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    1,913
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use DNG format or convert to it when I am using camera RAW files, that are not supported natively on my portable tethering set up for location stuff, ie. LR3 and CS5 etc.

  15. #15
    Sir Rattus79 - The Proclaimant
    Join Date
    15 Jul 2010
    Location
    Forest Lake
    Posts
    1,948
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As a Pentax user, I got DNG straight out of camera ....

    Pentax FTW!
    Greg Bartle,
    I have a Pentax and I'm not afraid to use it.
    Pentax K5
    Sigma 10-20 | Tamron 17-50 F:2.8 | Sigma 50 F:1.4 | Sigma 70-200 F:2.8 Plus a bunch of Ye Olde lenses


    Would you like to see more?
    http://flickr.com/photosbygreg

  16. #16
    Ausphotography Veteran
    Join Date
    08 Nov 2009
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,303
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by etherial View Post
    Do you use DNG, if so why?
    I don't use that image format and never have.

    I cannot see any reason to use it.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    28 Aug 2010
    Location
    Doreen
    Posts
    332
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When I shoot RAW, which is not all of the time, I shoot DNG in camera on my Pentaxes. I think an industry standard RAW format is a very good thing. I very much dislike proprietary formats that are unlikely to be supported in the future.
    Please don't hesitate to provide me with CC! I'd love to hear your thoughts regarding any of my images. Thanks!

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Feb 2008
    Location
    **Suburb/Town Required**
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have been forced to use DNG.

    I only have CS3 which I can update ACR to the latest to handle the NEF format for the D600 so I need to convert everything to DNG to keep using it.

    I did give it some thought though prior to the D600 and decided that DNG was a good idea. As the end user you are reliant onthe manufacturer of the software to support your cameras RAW format. SHould it not be supported you are screwed. If you convert everything to a standard like DNG then there is more chance that your images can be used in more editing packages.

    If someone can tell me how to update CS3 to the latest ACR I wold be extremely happy.

    Mick
    Last edited by znelbok; 18-04-2013 at 12:18pm.
    Mick

    Nikon D600 & D80, 24-70 f2.8 Nikkor, 50mm f1.4 Sigma ,18-135 Nikkor, Kenko Extension Tubes, SB-700 and a few little bits and pieces

  19. #19
    Former Username : Wetpixels Dazz1's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 May 2013
    Location
    South East Queensland
    Posts
    3,080
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I know I am just a beginner, but the CHDK firmware for Canon cameras, seems to be targeting DNG format. Other than the CHDK raw format - which is very non-standard, DNG is the only other 'raw' format available.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •