User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Camera(50D) not working, need some help

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    12 Aug 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Camera(50D) not working, need some help

    Canon are closed at this time I think so seeing if anyone can help.

    My 50D appears to have crapped itself. It will turn on and "work" with no lens...I can see the menu, and photos on the CF card.

    With a lens off, it now doesn't work. Won't adjust settings or focus or so anything.

    I'm really panicking now as I have some shoots lined up and can't afford another one

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    18 Aug 2010
    Location
    shepparton
    Posts
    2,682
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    trying taking batterys out and back in
    and try another lens
    cheers macca

  3. #3
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    12 Aug 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've tried that (except for the second battery so far as I don't have a screw driver yet) but didn't work.

  4. #4
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,811
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your original post is not to clear to me. Apologies for not quite getting it.
    I can understand you're anxious.

    It either works or does not with no lens.

    1) What happens with a lens in it?
    2) If nothing else, can you do a "factory reset"?

    3) At some cost, but to meet of any commitments made, you should be able to hire another.

    Am.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  5. #5
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    12 Aug 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oops sorry I meant with a lens ON it doesn't work.

  6. #6
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,811
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK. Any lens stops it, or just one or two?
    And what about a "factory reset"?

    It sounds normal to work as you describe without a lens. It might be a matter of compromised contacts.
    Am.

  7. #7
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    agree with ^ , clean the contacts on the camera and the lens.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  8. #8
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    8,185
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    dunno nuff'n about Canons.

    Move thread here for more exposure(pun intended) to the Canon camp.


    hope it gets sorted soon too.
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  9. #9
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,811
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by arthurking83 View Post
    ...dunno nuff'n about Canons...
    Same 'ere, AK. Nor geography, etc. But it sounds like a common problem to DSLRs.

    Meanwhile, I'm dyin' to know what Natalie has found out.
    Am.

  10. #10
    Member KeeFy's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Mar 2011
    Location
    Newtown
    Posts
    470
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Look at your top LCD when you try to turn it on with a lens on. What is the error code?

    If it's error 01, it's the contacts. As mentioned clean the contacts. Easiest way is a small eraser but take note not to get any of the bits into the sensor or lens. Rub gentley.

    Other methods is a small alcohol swab/earbud, ensure that it's only slightly damp not wet.

  11. #11
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    12 Aug 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok so I cleaned the contacts and I actually think they had a tiny bit of moisture got in it... the camera got splashed (only a TINY bit) a few hours before and it was so tiny I hadn't worried, but maybe it did get in somewhow? Now that it's dried and cleaned it is working again thanks!

    How bad is it that it got this wet? I'm scared now it's going to die on me again.

  12. #12
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    12 Aug 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh btw it had no error code, just wouldn't work at all (no menu, no focusing, nothing).

  13. #13
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,643
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by NatalieM View Post
    How bad is it that it got this wet? I'm scared now it's going to die on me again.
    Fresh water, salt water? Plain or would the water have other things in it, chemicals, cordials etc. Plain fresh water, a splash that is wiped off will not generally do long term damage, all the others can

  14. #14
    Member
    Threadstarter

    Join Date
    12 Aug 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It was just water from a tap.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    03 Dec 2011
    Location
    Springwood
    Posts
    190
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Probably wouldn't hurt to stick it in a bag with some moisture absorbent granules (Moisture Muncher is available at most camera stores and be be regenerated to be used again). Most of the time a little bit of moisture won't kill a camera, but you never know.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •