User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  12
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 41

Thread: Adobe Photoshop CS6 beta

  1. #1
    All lines lead to Home ... arnica's Avatar
    Join Date
    12 Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    879
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Adobe Photoshop CS6 beta

    For those considering getting Photoshop, here's a beta version of CS6 for free.

    http://www.theverge.com/2012/3/22/28...-download-free
    Regards,
    Phil

  2. #2
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,795
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks, Arnica. The conditions look benign enough. If I have a spare hour I might give the download a whirl.
    (I wonder what it's got over CS2?)
    Am.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  3. #3
    Ausphotography Regular agb's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Sep 2010
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    825
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    At the moment if you have Lightroom 4 and you go to "photo edit in ... Photoshop CS5" it says that we need the ACR7 which will be available with Photoshop CS6. Does that mean that if we get Lightroom 4 we will have to have CS6 or we won't be able to edit in photoshop without saving as say a tiff and then opening that in photoshop?
    The age of entitlement isn't over, it's just over there where you can't get to it.
    When several possibilities exist, the simplest solution is the best.
    "There are no rules" Bruce Barnbaum, The art of Photography
    Graham


  4. #4
    Member Muzfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Dec 2011
    Location
    Collingwood Park, QLD
    Posts
    63
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ACR is usually a freebie, so I think once it's not in beta, you can just update ACR and not necessarily photoshop...but I've been wrong before!

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well I now have the Beta version of CS6 , Will give it a go over the weekend
    Canon : 30D, and sometimes the 5D mkIII , Sigma 10-20, 50mm 1.8, Canon 24-105 f4 L , On loan Sigma 120-400 DG and Canon 17 - 40 f4 L , Cokin Filters




  6. #6
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,795
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good LARK with it William.
    My story: Yes, downloaded, read all the T&Cs, did the installation, ran it, and got exception errors of some sort.
    Next: uninstalled it, deleted the original zip file and unzipped folder.
    (Luckily too, I did a system restore point before all of the above.)

    I thought, "Poss Off"! (The name of a possum repellent, but apt in the circumstances.)

    How did anyone else fare?

    BTW, XP SP2, Quad core, 2GB.
    Umphh!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Nov 2009
    Location
    Kalgoorlie
    Posts
    1,153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by agb View Post
    At the moment if you have Lightroom 4 and you go to "photo edit in ... Photoshop CS5" it says that we need the ACR7 which will be available with Photoshop CS6. Does that mean that if we get Lightroom 4 we will have to have CS6 or we won't be able to edit in photoshop without saving as say a tiff and then opening that in photoshop?
    I have LR4 and I ignore that message and select open anyway. Opens in CS5 as a CR2 file.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @ AM, Sorry mate , I had the same problem, Look at the minimum requirement for CS6 , If running XP you need at least SP3 which I had to install as well

    Anyway got it working , Looks a little different
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Who me?
    Join Date
    02 Sep 2007
    Location
    Tweed Heads
    Posts
    2,749
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    be interested to hear of any big changes or new tools etc Bill
    Cheers David.

    Canon 40D/EF-S 17-85 mm IS/Kenko Extenson Tubes/Canon EF 50mm F/1.8 II (nifty fifty)
    Sigma 10-20mm 4-5.6 /Sigma 70-200/ Sigma 1.4 teleconverter/ some Conkin filters | Adobe Photoshop CS6



  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This shows some of the new features David , Still have;nt had a good play yet , BTW I got the 60 day trial, Not bad

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PTYcRWPsZUg

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You actually get some links to tut's on start up from Adobe

    EG :
    Attached Images Attached Images

  12. #12
    Ausphotography Regular agb's Avatar
    Join Date
    15 Sep 2010
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    825
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by fess67 View Post
    I have LR4 and I ignore that message and select open anyway. Opens in CS5 as a CR2 file.
    Does that mean that it has not brought into PS any of the adjustments that you have done in LR4?

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    09 Nov 2009
    Location
    Kalgoorlie
    Posts
    1,153
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It brought the changes in but they did not seem as vibrant in CS5 as they did in LR4. The render using lightroom oprion did bring the changes across much more accurately but as a tif and not CR2

  14. #14
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,795
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by William View Post
    @ AM, Sorry mate , I had the same problem, Look at the minimum requirement for CS6 , If running XP you need at least SP3 which I had to install as well
    Thanks, WIlliam. For some reason I cannot now remember, I never wanted to install SP3. Well, I might have to just do so

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ameerat42 View Post
    Thanks, WIlliam. For some reason I cannot now remember, I never wanted to install SP3. Well, I might have to just do so

    Same here, I think it had something to do with slowing down the computor at the time , But now I have more ram and a better processor it works fine

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Aug 2006
    Location
    Rockhampton
    Posts
    388
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So far I'm liking it, but I think I prefer CS4's camera raw editor. There are a lot of options and I'm short of photos to edit.

    I like the built in gradient tools, something I use photoshop for quite a lot. But it didn't seem to work in the 5 minute play I had with it earlier. Definitely need to spend more time on it, as at this time I'm thinking about upgrading.

  17. #17
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,795
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Installed SP3, CS6 - I get a 60-day trial - and all is running OK. Now "exploring" CS6.

    One thing: how do you "click" an image closed while keeping CS open?
    Um.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    10 Jul 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    6,346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here AM, Though you probably worked that out by now
    Attached Images Attached Images

  19. #19
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    16,795
    Mentioned
    21 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ta, William. Was in a rush after having a quick squiz. Had to take a trip to airport.
    Back now, and having a good look.
    Am.

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    15 Jun 2011
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    759
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I want to give this Beta a whirl. Some of the new features might make my life at work a slightly bit easier going!

    But will have to see.

    Decided to "shave" my signature ;]
    Now mostly shoots with: Canon 5D MK3 & Canon 24-70 f/2.8/50mm f/1.8 (also have a 550D with a variety of lenses/goodies and a Sony Nex-5N)
    PP with: Lightroom only, Photoshop is merely a 9-5 work tool for me.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •