User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  11
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 50

Thread: Internet Bandwidth Speed Test

  1. #1
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    14,870
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Internet Bandwidth Speed Test

    Folks.

    That is: How fast is your Internet connection in MBits/sec or KBits/sec? I need some info to throw at Optus.

    I was at a friend's place at a block of 8 flats near Waverton (N. Sydney). He recently got an Optus Naked DSL service.
    He uses a TP-Link 300MBit/sec modem router and a 300MBit/sec receiver. That is, N-class stuff.

    I was idling through AP while testing the performance and noted old dog's recent Queenstown train post took more than 20 sec to load - much slower than on my cable connection at home.

    So I went to CNet and ran this bandwidth test, using the "At Home" option.

    Test 1
    For the setup at Waverton it gave a line speed of 1.04 MBits/sec.
    For my little Netbook (also N-class) using the same TP-Link setup I got slightly more at 1.1 MBit/sec.

    Test 2
    I called a friend in Mudgee NSW who has only a 1.5MBit/sec Internet connection and got him to the the same test from the same site.
    He got a line speed of 1.32 Mbit/sec. OK, close enough, you could say.

    Test 3
    So then I ran this test at my place on the Optus cable (10 MBit/sec) and got 9.7 MBit/sec, just for comparison.

    I think there's something wrong with the Naked DSL connection. Is it supposed to be ADSL 2+ speed?

    Can anybody do any similarly comparable tests - ie, live in a block of flats in the Syd. Lower North Shore, even if it's not Naked ADSL, even if it's not Optus.

    Use the same test site for standardisation, viz CNet's Bandwidth Meter.

    Just a few tests would do. I'd be grateful, and I want a bit of info before I contact Optus about it.

    Ta, Am.
    CC, Image editing OK.

  2. #2
    Moderately Underexposed I @ M's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 May 2007
    Location
    Marlo, Far East Gippsland
    Posts
    4,864
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't understand the techy bits but all I know is that we are in the back blocks of Vic and have an ADSL ??? thingy that gives us the attached value.

    Oh yeah, the other bit I don't understand is what is an Optus.

    spbw.png
    Andrew
    Nikon, Fuji, Nikkor, Sigma, Tamron, Tokina and too many other bits and pieces to list.



  3. #3
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    14,870
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ta Andrew. That's the test, alright.

    I neglected (stupidly) to add in my post that the friend at Mudgee has exactly the same TP-Link modem as we were using in Waverton.

    It looks like you must have an 8000 KBit/sec service there, Andrew.

    Am.

    PS: Optus: an 8-legged marine mollusc with some arms hidden in consumers' pockets.
    Last edited by ameerat42; 25-02-2012 at 5:57pm.

  4. #4
    Member rodw's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Sep 2010
    Location
    Brisbane QLD
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The online tests do not really do the job. Drop over to http://www.extreame.net.au/ as they are specialist with cable networks and are very helpful. I've got no association with them other than that they really helped me when I had problems with Telstra cable. They have some more sophisticated methods to measure bandwidth.

    ADSL throughput is heavilly influenced by the distance to the exchange. If you can get it in your area, cable is the way to go.
    Last edited by rodw; 25-02-2012 at 5:57pm.
    RodW
    Brisbane south side

  5. #5
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    05 Feb 2011
    Location
    CQ
    Posts
    922
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm using a Belkin 600(?) modem on Telstra ADSL 2+.

    Here's my result.

    Bandwidth.jpg
    Last edited by camerasnoop; 25-02-2012 at 6:12pm.

  6. #6
    Ausphotography Regular
    Join Date
    18 Nov 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,988
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My result ,with Optus DSL (?) pla, 1.5 km from exchange, inner north Brisbane:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Sony DSCR1 bridge camera; Sony Alpha SLT A57; Sony Zeiss 16-80mm f3.5-4.5 lens; Sigma 10-20mm UWA lens; converted Nikon 50mm f2.0 lens; Filters: ND4,ND8,ND1000, CP; Photoshop CS6. 82.7% of statistics are made up!




  7. #7
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    14,870
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ta Snoopy and Ian. I would have "expected" more from both your services.
    Is either one of you in a block of flats, esp. Ian? If not, don't worry about replying.
    Am.

  8. #8
    Account Closed
    Join Date
    05 Feb 2011
    Location
    CQ
    Posts
    922
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ameerat42 View Post
    I would have "expected" more from both your services.
    12.5Mbit/s too slow for you?

  9. #9
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    14,870
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's not that CS, but that I was then wondering what people tend to get for ADSL2+, and of course, whether Naked DSL is supposed to be the same bandwidth.
    I happily cruise around at 10MB/s with cable.
    Am.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Mar 2010
    Location
    Buderim
    Posts
    1,260
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Am,

    These speed tests are indicative only. The only thing which will correctly report the 'line speed' is the modem itself. I don't know where exactly to find it but it should give you a read-out, probably in advanced settings or advanced status, of what the 'sync' rate is - this will dictate the maximum speed attainable.

    Naked ADSL is a funny beast. It's basically uncapped, which will allow it to operate as quickly as possible. However, there are many factors which can affect this speed - distance from the exchange (that is, the copper pair length) being the primary one. You will only get full speeds of 20Mbps when you're less than 500m cable length from the exchange - any further and it will drop off, to about 5km from the exchange where you get speeds as you have here. Now there are other things that can affect it - it may be a short line but with a bad join, or there could be a dodgy filter or a battery on the line, all of which will affect the speed.

    A few things to do -
    1. www.adsl2exchanges.com.au - put in the address. This will tell you approximate line length
    2. Check in the modem and find the sync speed. Also find the attenuation and SNR (noise margins) - post them here. Sometimes, you can be on a short line but these are lower than they should be, indicating a line problem.
    3. Perform an isolation test - disconnect EVERYTHING else from the phone lines and reboot the router. Note - the router can plug straight into the wall for this test provided everything else is unplugged.

    Post results up here and I can try to help further.

    It's likely that they're right on the limit of adsl deliverability - in which case the speeds you've mentioned would unfortunately be expected.

    So in short - Naked DSL CAN be the same rate as cable, but it's a variable speed technology. Speeds are never guaranteed (read the fine print on the contract and it will say 'up to' 21Mbps) due to the fact that it drops off over distance. I guess it's a bit like a mobile signal - the further you are from the base station, the worse it is.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Mar 2010
    Location
    Buderim
    Posts
    1,260
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Ian Brewster View Post
    My result ,with Optus DSL (?) pla, 1.5 km from exchange, inner north Brisbane:
    Your line must be far more than 1.5k to get that speed - 1.5k I'd be expecting about 12-15Mbps, not 2Mbps! Remember, the lines rarely follow the shortest route by road (or 'as the crow flies'). My first ADSL connection was in a place 200m from the exchange (I could see it from my front door). I was over 4km by the cable..!

  12. #12
    Account Closed Wayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 Dec 2009
    Location
    Eastside
    Posts
    1,639
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I love my Telstra 100Mbps cable.

  13. #13
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    14,870
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ta dieselpower. I know they are indicators only, and I'll look into some of what you mentioned. Nevertheless, sub-MBit/sec in Sydney's lower N Shore is disheartening to say the least, and the waiting time is sickening. We're sure going to let Optus know about it. At least they can test the line speed to the block of units, or something like that.

    And Wayne. What don't I know about Telstra's 100 MBit cable and outback Qld?

    Am.

    PS, dieselpower. Just put in the approximate address, and this is what I got
    You are 676 m from NSYD as the crow flies.
    Estimated cable length of 1081.6 m.
    Estimated speed of 20666
    Zone 1
    (Interestingly, it's about the same distance from the Crows Nest - stone the blighters!)
    PF!
    Last edited by ameerat42; 26-02-2012 at 7:57pm.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Mar 2010
    Location
    Buderim
    Posts
    1,260
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Something definitely isn't right then - line stats off the modem would be the next port of call to see its sync rate and noise margins. It could be back haul congestion an not a line sync issue at all!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Mar 2010
    Location
    Buderim
    Posts
    1,260
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It is worth putting in the exact address if you can though as there could still be a significant change in line length between what you put in and where it actually is.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  16. #16
    A royal pain in the bum! arthurking83's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jun 2006
    Location
    the worst house, in the best street
    Posts
    7,710
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Could also be the router itself!

    As you have the same router brand and model, it should be relatively straightforward to replace each others routers temporarily just for the purpose of testing.

    I get pretty good line speed(although it could be a wee tad faster) on my router's cabled connections, but the wireless speed is atrocious, and wireless sensitivity and power is almost non existent .. right next to the router itself!

    Got a cheapie Tenda brand wireless AP, connected to a wired port on the router set it the centre of the house and wireless signal is now at full speed everywhere in the house except the back room where the router resides!

    Also what is a wee bit unclear(to me) is if the OP's test where the friends line speed test is done via wireless, or cabled connection?
    I'm assuming that Am is doing the line speed (at Waverton) via wireless(N-class), which is a fast wireless connection speed, as I can get 7Mbit/s on a cheap laptop in the living room .. but it's not the most reliable way to determine your ultimate line speed.

    Am, are you testing line speed only via Wireless? If so, what's the wired speed of the connection too?

    Wireless is fraught with many connection issues .. especially in areas where saturation of devices CAN be high.

    If the line speed test has been done wirelessly only, there are many apps you can get that can show you what wireless signal strength is like in your area(your friend's place at Waverston) and if there is cross interference from other users in the immediate area.
    Nikon D800E, D300, D70s
    {Nikon} -> 50/1.2 : 500/8(CPU'd) : 105/2.8VR Micro : 180/2.8ais : 105mm f/1.8ais : 24mm/2ais
    {Sigma}; ->10-20/4-5.6 : 50/1.4 : 12-24/4.5-5.6II : 150-600mm|S
    {Tamron}; -> 17-50/2.8 : 28-75/2.8 : 70-200/2.8 : 300/2.8 SP MF : 24-70/2.8VC


  17. #17
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,138
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I can't get ADSL2 or Naked. But I get 6.72mbps out of my ADSL1 plan. I am also less than 1 km from the NBN, and wish they had done all my suburb, not half of it.
    "It is one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it is another thing to make a portrait of who they are" - Paul Caponigro

    Constructive Critique of my photographs is always appreciated
    Nikon, etc!

    RICK
    My Photography

  18. #18
    Administrator ricktas's Avatar
    Join Date
    24 Jun 2007
    Location
    Hobart
    Posts
    15,138
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by rodw View Post
    The online tests do not really do the job. Drop over to http://www.extreame.net.au/ as they are specialist with cable networks and are very helpful. I've got no association with them other than that they really helped me when I had problems with Telstra cable. They have some more sophisticated methods to measure bandwidth.

    ADSL throughput is heavilly influenced by the distance to the exchange. If you can get it in your area, cable is the way to go.
    That link is just another internet forum, with a small number of members. If people want advice on hardware etc, they would be much better off going to whirlpool or overclockers, with their tens of thousands of members, and often reps from the companies as well.
    Last edited by ricktas; 27-02-2012 at 6:12am.

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    25 Mar 2010
    Location
    Buderim
    Posts
    1,260
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by arthurking83 View Post
    If the line speed test has been done wirelessly only, there are many apps you can get that can show you what wireless signal strength is like in your area(your friend's place at Waverston) and if there is cross interference from other users in the immediate area.
    inssider is a good one for this - it shows wireless network channel use and can overcome issues by showing a vacant, or less congested channel, to use.
    It is worth testing via a network cable to the router too (with wireless on the computer disabled), to eliminate this possibility however N class wireless is much less susceptible to massive interference than regular G wireless.

  20. #20
    Arch-Σigmoid Ausphotography Regular
    Threadstarter
    ameerat42's Avatar
    Join Date
    18 Sep 2009
    Location
    Nthn Sydney
    Posts
    14,870
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    dieselpower, AK and Rick, ta, there's a good bit here to digest.
    As AK suggested. I will hook up the modem-router via cable to the computer direct and check that (on the weekend).
    Ah, but as I now remember, when we used his older original modem from Optus connected like that via cable it still only gave 1.4MBit/sec.

    Nevertheless, there's a bit to do yet.

    Am.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •