User Tag List

Thanks useful information Thanks useful information:  0
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Remotes with K5

  1. #1
    Still in the Circle of Confusion Cage's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Posts
    5,350
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Remotes with K5

    I have had my K5 for a bit over one month and am loving it.

    However, and there always seems to be a 'however', neither my cable remote nor my IR remote seem to work, and they were both fine on the K20D.

    The only remote function enabling I can find is with the 4 way controller.

    OK, I suspect I'm having a 'Senior's Moment' and missing something simple, but crucial.

    Any help welcomed.

    Thanks

    Kevin
    Last edited by Cage; 20-02-2012 at 4:48pm.
    Cheers
    Kev

    D600 : D7200 and too much stuff to list

  2. #2
    Go the Rabbitohs mudman's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 Oct 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    3,208
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    check your costom settings
    Last edited by mudman; 20-02-2012 at 9:47pm.
    cc and enjoy

    Photography is painting with light

    K1, Pentax 18-250mm zoom, Pentax 100mm macro, Sigma 50-500mm, Pentax 28-105mm
    Velbon Sherpa tripod Photoshop CS6

  3. #3
    Still in the Circle of Confusion
    Threadstarter
    Cage's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Posts
    5,350
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The only setting I could find was to enable the IR Remote with the 4-way controller on the back of the camera.

    The plug-in cable switch should just be an additional physical shutter switch requiring no setting up, shouldn't it ?

    I have had them both for a few years so it is possible that they have passed away.

    At around $10 for a new generic cable switch I guess it's cheap enough to try another.

  4. #4
    Go the Rabbitohs mudman's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 Oct 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    3,208
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i went through 3 cable remotes on my k7.
    went into camera house and got a wireless remote which will work on pentax canon and nikon.
    only cost a few dollars and the battery lasts a long time
    check the out

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    15 Jul 2010
    Location
    Forest Lake
    Posts
    1,948
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use the same home made Cable release on my k5 as I did on my k10 - not a problem at all, no custom settings required ....

    Edit to say:
    the k5 is a beautiful body, the more you use it, the more you will fall in love with it!
    Last edited by Rattus79; 21-02-2012 at 4:40pm.
    Greg Bartle,
    I have a Pentax and I'm not afraid to use it.
    Pentax K5
    Sigma 10-20 | Tamron 17-50 F:2.8 | Sigma 50 F:1.4 | Sigma 70-200 F:2.8 Plus a bunch of Ye Olde lenses


    Would you like to see more?
    http://flickr.com/photosbygreg

  6. #6
    Still in the Circle of Confusion
    Threadstarter
    Cage's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Posts
    5,350
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Greg

    I've just ordered a new cable release so I will see what happens when it arrives later this week.

    And you are right, the K5 impresses me more every time I use it.

    Cheers

    Kevin

  7. #7
    Still in the Circle of Confusion
    Threadstarter
    Cage's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Posts
    5,350
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    And Muddie, I hope the new cable remote works.

    If it doesn't I guess I'll have to toddle off to a camera store and try a few like you had to.

    Fingers crossed.

    Cheers

    Kevin

  8. #8
    Go the Rabbitohs mudman's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 Oct 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    3,208
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i prefer my wireless remote as i can lock the mirror up and release the shutter without touching the camera in any way, thus maximising image quality

  9. #9
    Still in the Circle of Confusion
    Threadstarter
    Cage's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Posts
    5,350
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is that IR Remote similar to this one ?

    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/360382146...84.m1423.l2649

  10. #10
    Go the Rabbitohs mudman's Avatar
    Join Date
    23 Oct 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    3,208
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes it is. mine only does shutter release. it does not have those other functions.
    for the price your one would be great value.
    Last edited by mudman; 22-02-2012 at 8:40am.

  11. #11
    Still in the Circle of Confusion
    Threadstarter
    Cage's Avatar
    Join Date
    25 May 2010
    Location
    Hunter Valley
    Posts
    5,350
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cable release arrived today. Plugged it in and all is working now.

    I guess my old cable release carked it the same time as the battery died in the IR Release.

    Anyway all good now and thanks for the help.

    Cheers

    Kevin

  12. #12
    Member robma47's Avatar
    Join Date
    20 Jan 2010
    Location
    Busselton
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had the same problem on k7 ok no go on k5
    got a wireless remote which will work on pentax canon and nikon.
    only cost a few dollars and the battery lasts a long time

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    15 Jul 2010
    Location
    Forest Lake
    Posts
    1,948
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I picked up a mz5n with a 35mm 2.8 prime the other week from an op shop, turns out it had an infared remote in the strap.
    20 odd years old and still works perfectly on my k5!!

    I love pentax's backwards compatibility!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •