PDA

View Full Version : Noob Purchase.. Canon or Nikon?

bellamy83
15-01-2012, 6:55pm
Hi.. I am completely new to the field of DSLR and was thinking of purchasing a Canon 60D so I don't have to upgrade the body in the future rather than going for an older/easier to use perhaps model? I have been doing some internet research today and came across the Nikon D7000 which seems pretty good too... I was a bit turned off by the 60D due to the raves about the video camera (as this is a function I will never probably use) and the Nikon appeared better for still shots?
Anyways any thoughts would be much appreciated.
Thanks
Bell =)

Kym
15-01-2012, 7:00pm
:gday: & Welcome
- when you get your camera, lets see some photos in the main CC forums (http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/forumdisplay.php?5) and have fun! Maybe try a competition or 2.

As a Pentax shooter, get the D7000 -- it has best APS-C sensor!! (The same as the Pentax K-5)

Maybe have a look at the New to Photography (http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showlibrary.php?title=Books:New_To_Photography_Book) book and the Learning Plan in the book.

Specifically check the New to Photography (http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showlibrary.php?title=Books:New_To_Photography_Book) book and equipment guide before purchasing - lots of good advice.

etherial
15-01-2012, 7:28pm
Hi Welcome to the forum. My advice would be to get hands on with the cameras, they are quite different to handle and one or the other might simply gel with you. They are all pretty much good quality these days so find something that you are comfortable with. Don't let the video feature turn you away, sure you might not use it but it certainly doesn't mean the camera isn't as good for stills. The 60D is a great camera.

Also consider your budget, when choosing a brand remember you are buying into an ecosystem of lenses, flashes etc, so a cheap body might cost you more in the long run to match it with the lenses you need.

ricktas