PDA

View Full Version : Im in a Pickle

cupic
13-12-2011, 2:19pm
Its decision time Folks

I have read and read and You Tube but based on previous experience I still cant make a informal decision,So Im
asking my fellow Nikonites for advice

My problem is to choose between

Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8 mega expense but top notch gear (I am a hobbyist)
Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 (show some love) Its slow focus but tack sharp,better than some Sigma's perhaps
Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 OS HSM and the Non OS mixed thoughts on this one

I am armed with a D300

I gather all the good points and bad points its just that the hit and miss ratio with the Sigma is a worry to me as my last copy in Pentax Mount left me wondering
as why spent the dollars and not getting tack sharp wide open @ 200mm

Thanks in advance

cheers

Wayne
13-12-2011, 3:54pm
Simple,

Get the Nikkor, it will last a lifetime, is built like a tank, weather and dust sealed, it is faster focusing than the others mentioned, it is a known and renowned sharp performer at all focal lengths and apertures, is a great piece of glass on both DX and FX. It can also be used with teleconverters to extend your reach without too much of a performance hit so is also versatile.

The Nikkor can also be had in 2 flavours, either the version 1 with VR, and version II with VR2. Never discount getting a mint used example of either series, they are both stellar, and you can save quite alot over the new price, particularly on the original VR version. Always plenty of these on the market in the USA, prices for mint samples hover around US$1400-1500 and shipping is about $60-70.
Purchase once, purchase right :th3:

kiwi
13-12-2011, 3:57pm
get a second hand 70-200 VRI

or a sigma 70-200 HSM, I think the new ones are pretty good value really

junqbox
13-12-2011, 5:22pm
nikon (even SH)

Lance B
13-12-2011, 5:55pm