PDA

View Full Version : Google+

Greg Johnston
27-10-2011, 10:55pm
I'm new to photography and ways to store/display photos on the web. I came across Google+ the other day and am wondering if others members use it and what they think of it. Thanks.

ricktas
27-10-2011, 11:10pm
Google + is basically googles answer to facebook

For storing/displaying photos, have a look at photobucket and/or flickr. Both of these also integrate well with AP, in that you can easily link the photos displayed there, directly into AP threads: http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showlibrary.php?title=Indexes:How_Do_I

Having said that, I like Google+ cause at this stage it isn't filled with the games and apps that facebook has, and not having all that makes it cleaner, with less distractions. However in future, I guess google will use it as a marketing tool, like FB does and we will be bombarded.

kiwi
27-10-2011, 11:11pm
I do use google+, but I don't think it's really designed to store photos, display via the circles there but not sure you can link URL to here for example

Picassa night be a better bet

Store photos on hard drives, just make sure you always have at least two copies and preferably one offsite

KLi
28-10-2011, 1:15am
Google + is awesome for interacting with many big name photographers and sometimes even talk to them live in hangouts. They do have a good system of sharing images but not so much for storing.

Tommo224
28-10-2011, 9:54am
I tried Google+, but because I was so used to the way Facebook works it confused me. I spend enough time on Facebook, also having Google+ is going to leech the remaining time lol!

gerry
28-10-2011, 12:03pm
Google + is awesome for interacting with many big name photographers and sometimes even talk to them live in hangouts. They do have a good system of sharing images but not so much for storing.