PDA

View Full Version : What to charge for product photography

Iammuc
04-10-2011, 1:14am
Hello all,

I am a designer and have been asked by a client to do some product photography for them, downlights, dimmers, power supplies, etc. I have also been asked to photograph some of their current on site installations also like shop fronts (I will be driven around for this). This is all new to me and I have no idea what to charge so I am looking for some guidance from some veterans.

I have decided to go down the route of buying a medium sized lighting tent and 3 articulating table lamps from say officeworks for the setup with some daylight bulbs. I like the idea of easily controlling lighting placement with those articulating lamps vs lamp stands and boom stands. Is this setup adequate?

Thanks in advance.

I @ M
04-10-2011, 5:27am
I would suggest that your fees for the described project should fall directly in line with :-

#1 Your time spent completing the job, what $/hr value do you put upon yourself?

#2 Your ability to confidently produce print ready, catalogue worthy images.

I would respectfully suggest that if you can't answer the first question and have any doubts about #2 then you aren't ready to do the job.

Please don't think I am neccesarily being harsh with my answers but do think about how you would think if I asked you what my charges should be to design something for someone when I don't have any established working knowledge of the design business.

ricktas
04-10-2011, 6:17am