PDA

View Full Version : Manfrotto light stands - overkill for beginners?

RedSky83
26-09-2011, 1:20pm
Just need some quick advice here, I'm a strobist beginner and looking for a simple setup to use with either an umbrella or softbox, using a single 580EX II for the moment. I've been recommended the Manfrotto Nano 5001b with the 026 adapter but wondering if it's overkill for just starting out, the other alternative is one of the starving strobist kits or possibly the Westcott umbrella/softbox kit from Image Melbourne.

My usual approach has been to buy mid to high spec once rather than buy cheap and need to upgrade, but the little voice in my head is saying that maybe it's worth looking at cheaper options for this and put the savings towards a better quality tripod/lenses.

Thoughts?

BLWNHR
26-09-2011, 1:38pm
Absolute overkill. I use my gear professionally (not very often, but in a professional environment when I do) and am more than happy with my $40 light stands! They have been perfect for the 2 years I've been using them and there is no sign of them failing any time soon either.

I would spend the extra and get metal flash brackets, I used plastic ones to start with but they are junk. Oh, and carry a pair of pliers with you (Leatherman would be perfect) as the cold-shoe can be hard to get undone sometimes.

I would love to recommend a place to buy from but unfortunately the business I used, and offered me exceptional service for the many purchases I have made through them, isn't allowed to be mentioned on these forums for one reason or another.

kaiser
27-09-2011, 10:44am
I have a couple of light duty $30 stands which are fine for a speedlight and a brolly. If you ever think you will be adding heavier modifiers like a large softbox or a beauty dish - then its worth getting something a little more heavy duty.