PDA

View Full Version : Macro shooting with 18-55mm Nikor

Gunsoftheworld
26-09-2011, 1:17am
Hey guys, I've recently got myself a new Nikon D5100 with 18-55mm & 55-300mm Nikkor lenses. I am looking to do some macro photography of flowers and insects and have noticed that neither of my lenses can give me the close up I am looking for. Am I doing something wrong or do i need to get some special lenses for macro photography?

I was looking into extension tubes for the 18-55mm but I don't really know if it will work or what exactly it does.

I also read up on reversing the lenses and found i needed a mount for the lenses.

I wanted to know if anyone has tried this and found that it worked or not or what ever.

Thanks in advance!

dieselpower
26-09-2011, 6:08pm
Hi Gunsoftheworld.

Neither of the lenses you have will allow you to focus close - the minimum distance for the 55-300 is 1.4m and the 18-55 is 0.28m. With macro (and I'm not an expert!) the closer you are, the better. I'd also suggest that the 55-300 might be a better choice as it will allow greater magnification.

Extension tubes will allow you to get the front of the lens much closer to the item you're wanting to photograph. This essentially 'zooms' you in further, and also increases the distance between the focal plane and the front of the lens - helping you overcome the limitations of the lenses.

Another option is close-up rings. They go on the front of the lens like a filter, and contain glass to change the focus distance. I use these and don't find them to be very good, the optical quality is not great - mind you nor is the quality of the lens I'm putting them on! They are cheap though, so it might be a good way to get started.

Haven't tried reversing lenses but looked into it for a while - decided it was too much mucking around to bother.

If you're serious about doing macro then a dedicated macro lens is the way to go as they're purpose built - but $ is then the contributing factor!