PDA

View Full Version : Presets for LR - do you or don't you??

Ms Monny
25-09-2011, 9:38pm
Do you or don't you use Presets in Lightroom??

Just came across a website that offers free presets that others have made up and are downloadable. I downloaded a few into Lightroom just now. Is this the lazy way out, or another creative way of getting the image you want?? Some of the presets were awful but others definately have merit.

Interested to know your thoughts!

peterking
25-09-2011, 10:01pm
I do use a range of presets for my exporting depending on what I am doing with them.
Other than that I have no experience with presets.
Could you give a link to the site so that I might go and have a look and get some idea.

kiwi
25-09-2011, 10:06pm
yes.

its not cheating, its a shortcut

But dont let them take over you.

KeeFy
25-09-2011, 10:43pm
I have my own presets that sets the basis of a picture should i wish to go down that path. I can explore the different styles that i've created before and from there i can further adjust to my liking. So yes. I do use presets. Makes workflow more efficient IMO and standardises your own style.

Xebadir
25-09-2011, 10:44pm
I generally produce my own for experimental techniques/quick fixes for non important images. But even then I generally tweak post preset to get the best out of the image as a preconcieved setting is never going to be exactly right. If I do find a technique that works well with a certain type of image generally I will save it so I can apply it to future cases with a similar input (which are then fine tweaked). I don't think its cheating, certainly no different from a photoshop action or anything else. Just saves time.

Ms Monny
25-09-2011, 10:49pm
http://www.presetsheaven.com/

You are right Darren. Not cheating (harsh word) but I can see how it can be too easy to use instead of working out a system yourself or understanding the sliders and using them to create your own masterpiece!