PDA

View Full Version : School needs Advice/Help

danny
28-08-2011, 8:36pm
Over the past couple of years I have been bringing my camera to school ( I am a teacher ) and using it to get some photos for the school. I must say that it has been a great place to practise taking shots as there is always something going on and usually in a range of different lightings. The school community (The boss in particular) have been really happy to have some "good" photos of the kids. Before I started photos were taken on cheap P&Ss.

Now the Boss has thought that the school should invest in their own camera. So... What are the suggestions? I suppose the criteria would be in order;

1. Cost effectiveness (it is a public school after all)
2. Needs to be able to take photos in a range of light, low light photos are a must.
3. Relatively easy to use. Myself and a few others have DSLR experience but some do not.

Basically I would love it if the school bought a D3S with a range of lenses.. but that is not really practical and P&S just don't cut it for the needs of the school.

Cheers
Danny

kiwi
28-08-2011, 8:43pm
D7000 and 18-200

enduro
28-08-2011, 9:05pm
Might be a good idea to invest in their own camera, however it might be a better idea that they to invest in your up skilling and some good lighting (considering the idea is for annual portraits).

A good tool is necessary to do a good job but one needs the skill use it.

danny
28-08-2011, 9:52pm
Might be a good idea to invest in their own camera, however it might be a better idea that they to invest in your up skilling and some good lighting (considering the idea is for annual portraits).

A good tool is necessary to do a good job but one needs the skill use it.

Sorry should have been clearer. Photos are used for newsletters, displays around school and community events, webpage and general PR. NOT annual portraits.

Cheers
Danny

ricstew
28-08-2011, 10:03pm
Kr and 18-250

jasevk
28-08-2011, 11:05pm
D7000 and 18-200