PDA

View Full Version : Getting sponsors for my new business, anyone else done anything like this?

Linnie
15-08-2011, 4:39pm
I have been shooting nightlife and events now for 6 months and have built myself up to 2 permanent positions and I get my work published in a magazine and have made a lot of new contacts for annual events, with all this happening I thought I would start up my own business as things were starting to get a bit messy with inviocing.

My question is, now that im registered and all official I am going to be getting a 'uniform' to wear when im out shooting and I was thinking that I could get a company to sponsor me, maybe an alcohol company as that is usually my target audience, so they would pretty much be paying for my uniform so they can have their logo's on display.

Has anyone had any experience with this? Or am I too much of a small fish?

ricktas
15-08-2011, 5:23pm
Sponsorship dollars are very hard to come by these days. All you can do is research the companies you want to have as sponsors, find out the names of the relevant people, make contact and try and line up an appointment. Remembering that sponsorship is a two way street. The companies want to get something back for what they expend. So make your presentation professional, know your goals, and the goals of the company you are seeking sponsorship from, and give it your best shot.

The worst that can happen is they say no!

Art Vandelay
15-08-2011, 5:42pm
If your only chasing the actual uniform, and therefore promoting someone else, you'd have to question if it's really worth it. A better option maybe to have your own shirt done up with your own business for promotion, plus a www address and message on the back informing patron on where to view pics... and purchase.

bazbert
15-08-2011, 6:19pm