PDA

View Full Version : Visually determining the correct exposure

mandab99
13-08-2011, 5:11pm
Hiya

Being a newbie I have noticed how advanced photogs can just look at a photo and know that it is over/under exposed. I may look at a photo and think, yep thats awesome and then read CC'ing on it to discover that in fact it is not correctly exposed. Is this just something that in time will come with experiance? Any tips for us mere newbies?

Thanks!!!
Manda

JM Tran
13-08-2011, 5:22pm
Hiya

Being a newbie I have noticed how advanced photogs can just look at a photo and know that it is over/under exposed. I may look at a photo and think, yep thats awesome and then read CC'ing on it to discover that in fact it is not correctly exposed. Is this just something that in time will come with experiance? Any tips for us mere newbies?

Thanks!!!
Manda

It comes with experience, which comes from a lot of practice and trial and error

so my best advise to you is - get out there and practice in all condition, not just in ideal conditions:)

Kym
13-08-2011, 5:30pm
Exposure is a balancing act!
See:
http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showlibrary.php?title=New_To_Photography:Sunny_16_and_exposure_guides
http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showlibrary.php?title=New_To_Photography:What_is_Exposure_Value

There are many 'right' exposures, but some are more creative than others.
Say ISO 400, 1/250 and f/4 has the same in terms of light as ISO 100, 1/2second and f/22
But you could capture water movement with the 2nd exposure (and a tripod).

Over exposure is simply blown highlights - i.e. loss of detail.
Under exposure is not enough light leaving areas of darkness.
You can use under and over exposure creatively as well, comes with experience.

mongo
13-08-2011, 6:44pm