PDA

View Full Version : computer expert please

ving
12-08-2011, 10:21am
received a new computer sans HD. if I get the hard drive from my old computer and put it in the new will it work? I assume that if the answer is yes then on first startup win XP will find new hardware that will need to be installed and thats about it all other programs should work?? any ideas?

or do i need to start from scratch

:confused013

macmich
12-08-2011, 10:34am
i am not a expert ving
when i swapped this year
they made a external harddrive out of my old one and i accerss the files from that
cheers macca

Tannin
12-08-2011, 11:15am
In general, no.

In detail, it depends on whether the plug & play system is able to adapt to the sudden change of 100% of the hardware. Usually it isn't.

Why not just buy a new hard drive and do the job properly? Cost is about $100. How much is your data worth?

agb
12-08-2011, 11:22am
How was it you got a new computer without a hard drive?
New hard drive could be as cheap as $60 for 1Tb.
http://www.computeralliance.com.au/parts.aspx?qryPart=12419

deef
12-08-2011, 11:30am
From personal experience, yes, it should work, having done it myself. As you said, it will be looking for new drivers for the motherboard, video card and probably other things, depending what is in the new machine when doing that first boot. So when you do the change, have all the driver disks and windows disk handy to instal the motherboard drivers and whatever else is asked for.

Of course it goes without saying (but I will ... LOL) that you have all your data on the hd backed up before pulling it out of your old machine.

Good luck.

Speedway
12-08-2011, 12:29pm
Hi David.
Q 1. Why sans HDD? A new Sata 500G HDD is under $40.
Q 2. What is the old HDD (SATA or IDE) and capacity?