PDA

View Full Version : When doing the right thing feels so wrong.

Scotty72
02-08-2011, 8:19pm
As a school teacher, I get to see the best and the worst of the young adults as they grow from adolescence to adult-hood.

Today, I had to report one of my brightest young HSC students for academic malpractice. When, I confronted her over her conduct (I alleged plagiarism), she responded that the pressure from her parents to 'come first' was overwhelming (for various reasons, I believe her).

So, a bright young lady's reputation and HSC mark has been trashed by overbearing parents.

So, reporting her did break my heart but, ethically, I had no choice.

So, my question is... in your job, do you also experience any such Catch 22 situations whereby, due to the circumstances, the choices are impossible?

ricktas
02-08-2011, 8:28pm
I have seen patient's outright lie to family members about their illness/disease etc, after their consultation where they have been given the news. This makes me want to yell at them 'just tell them the bloody truth', but due to patient confidentiality, I can't!

I hope the girl above can hold her head high, and tell her parents that it was their pressure that made her do it, rather than the parents get stuck into her for her actions. But sadly I think the parents will absolve themselves of any wrong-doing, other than to blame their daughter.

Society is in a sad place, some parents don't give a rats about the children they brought into the world, and others are so overbearing, that they influence every last decision made by these young adults.

Scotty72
02-08-2011, 8:46pm
Yes, I can imagine the dilemma associated with medical matters.

My father died Nov. last year, of cancer. Living about 14 hours drive away, I never got to see him that much. In July, 2010 (the last time I saw him), he told me he had cancer and had about 2 years. I was due to go up that Dec. He said there was no hurry to go up sooner - as there was plenty of time.