PDA

View Full Version : Advice on shooting fast objects (cars) at sunset/night situations

laurita31
23-06-2011, 10:46am
Hi all,
I have been practicing lots of day photos and getting used to all my settings. Although i am attending some drag racing on the weekend and im not too familiar with shooting in low light, especially fast moving objects.
I have a Canon 7D with the following lenses:
-50mm 1.8 II
-18-35mm 3.5-5.6
- 70-300mm 4-5.6

What would be the best setting (TV, AV, M) and lens for these shots and what techniques can i use to get sharp well exposed photos? My understanding is that i will need a high ISO, a small f/stop and a fast shutter speed. But judging the light at the time and choosing the right numbers is my major issue.

Any help will be appreciated. :o

ameerat42
23-06-2011, 11:08am
Well, Laurita, I don't know how much light you'll have, but to free you up some to concentrate on the shots, I would be putting in Tv mode and letting the aperture vary as necessary. You can change the shutter speed as you consider necessary.

But the 1st thing to do on arrival is to see just what light the camera is metering. That will help you decide on what ISO you might need. As the evening progresses and IF the light changes, do another reading to see if you might need to change your ISO.

With the fast f=50mm lens you will only be limited by how large the subject will be. Across the track the cars may appear small.

With the longer lens you will have to pan along with the subjects, and its smaller maximum aperture will soak up some light - an extra stop at full zoom.

Try to get a bit of practice beforehand, even separately, like panning, checking out image sizes, and low-light evening shots.

Am.

andylo
23-06-2011, 11:09am
I am a newbie myself - so I am just sharing my (limited) experience with you and don't take it as gospel.

In terms of shoot motor sport, there are 2 types.