PDA

View Full Version : I want to buy

Danielle10
23-06-2011, 7:32am
An external flash for my 60d.
A guy in the kodak store said the 430 ex II but why? He didn't go into anything just wrote down a few accessories I could buy when I got my new camera.

What are the differences between the 430 and 580? Anything u should look out for? And are there any tips you could give me?

reflect
23-06-2011, 8:35am
Sorry, I have no knowledge of Canon equipment, however I will say with my nikon gear the nikon speedlights do everything they should everytime and my vastly cheaper Yongnuos do everything they should almost everytime.

macdog
23-06-2011, 10:17am
Yongnuos, I have heard a little about them lately. $75 each....6 flashes for one Canon one

Worth it?

PH005
23-06-2011, 10:18am
Not really any tips Danielle, but just to second the choice of either the 430 or 580. Top flashes. Maybe if you think you will do a lot of flash work you might be better going for the 580. :)

ameerat42
23-06-2011, 10:26am
A guy in...What are the differences between the 430 and 580? Anything u should look out for? And are there any tips you could give me?

A guy...What are the differences between the 430 and 580?.../QUOTE]

For a start, the numbers represent the Guide Number (GN) of each flashes. The GN is a measure of its power. The 580 is almost double the power of the 430.
THIS PAGE (http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Reviews/Canon-430EX-II-Speedlite-Flash-Review.aspx) explains it in some detail.
Am.

Mary Anne
23-06-2011, 2:16pm
I have had the 430 for many years and have used it on the 20D, 40D, 5D Mk11 and never had any problems for what I want to use it for mainly close ups and macro.
Now I have the proper macro twin flash-lite so I don't use it anymore, not at present anyway..
I have use the 430 for taking indoor photo's of the Grand-children birthdays and it works well to across the other side of a large room