PDA

View Full Version : Exposure Compensation Dilemma

mary13
21-06-2011, 9:25pm
Hi all

Hoping I may be able to find an answer here in regards to Exposure Compensation as am a complete Beginner.
I tried taking some Sunset shots over the city this afternoon. I have been having trouble with the the Exposure Compensation meter (-2.1.0.1.+2), in my Canon EOS 1000D Handbook, they call it the Exposure level Indicator. Anyway, the needle is sitting on the (-2) and will no move no matter what I do, even changing the Shutter Speed and Aperture, it will not move which is very frustrating as a beginner! I have the ISO set to 100.
We were told that the when the needle sits in the middle on the (0) you will get a sharp picture. Up until now, the Exposure level mark would centre in the middle on the (0) if this makes sense.

Not sure if I have changed some settings without realising, I have checked the Metering mode is still set to Evaluative Metering, the Auto Exoposure Bracketing is off.
In the Introductory Photography course I have just completed, we were advised to only use Manual, not TV or AV. I have been reading some of the threads regarding AV and am going to try the AV setting for a while and see how I go with it.
Thank you in advance
Mary

Scotty72
21-06-2011, 9:31pm
Can I assume you are in Tv or Av mode?

Not M?

Scotty72
21-06-2011, 9:36pm
If you are, the the indicator will not move.

What it does that (For eg if you are in Tv mode) when you set the desired shutter speed, the camera will use the light meter to then set the appropriate aperture. But, the -2 setting you have means that the camera will deliberately set the aperture to expose 2 stops under correct exposure.

(same applies to Av setting - but it will adjust the Shutter)

What you are trying to do will work in M mode.

That is, you pick either the aperture you want (or the shutter speed), then you adjust the shutter (or aperture) until that needle gets to the correct exposure.

Get me?

Scotty72