PDA

View Full Version : Beginner - Should I be using M, TV or AV

mary13
11-06-2011, 11:45am
Hi all

I am only just starting out using my SLR and am 7 weeks into an 8 week Introductory SLR course.

We have been advised to only use Manual on the dial. I am now confused after reading lots of threads where people say to use TV or AV.

I am not even really sure what the difference is between the three settings and now confused over which one to use.

I went out this morning to try my first sunrise shots and had so much trouble finding the correct Shutter speed and Aperture, I kept the ISO at 100.

Would love to hear peoples opinions and explanations.

Thank you
Mary

kiwi
11-06-2011, 12:20pm
i think the course is probably telling you to use manual to force you to think and understand settings. people use manual sometimes, and av and tv sometimes too, it really depends

Brigitte
11-06-2011, 12:29pm
I'm new to the DSLR thing as well but was advised to start with the aperture setting. I photographed everything for a period of time just with this setting. Having done this it certainly gave me a better understanding of aperature. I then spent some time down at the local creek where the water flows over some rocks playing just with the shutter speeds. Photographing the same subject with different variables of aperture or shutter speed makes it easy to see the effect it is having. I'm still not using total manual as I want to master the other 2 modes first. When I want to make sure I get things right I set it on P mode and also then play either with the aperture or shutter speed. ISO I leave on auto for the moment. Starting with manual mode I think would be very hard as 2 variables have to be considered. I also feel that camera manufacturers give us the technology to ensure we get good photographs so why not use it.
Keep trying and more importantly having fun!

Wayne
11-06-2011, 12:30pm
Depends on what you are shooting and what effect if any you want to achieve.