PDA

View Full Version : where's my focus??

Pudda
04-06-2011, 9:49pm
I'm sooo disappointed.... I borrowed a lens from a friend for my Nikon D7000. The lens is a 50mm 1.8 AF ... thats about all I know about it cause I'm very new to photography. Get to the point Paul... well, I took 350 shots, of which about 300 are out of focus. The subect was a baby, close up, 2-4 feet away, indoors, average lighting. Mode- AUTO, AF, no flash... Why are so many shots out of focus? Is is a depth of field thing??. The lens seems to mechanically lock (apperture dial on outer lens body, moves from 1.8 to 22) at 2.8, and the camera displays an EE when ever outside the mechanical lock i.e. any setting other than 2.8. Looking for advise on how to pull my focus back in..??. Yes the auto focus was working / moving.

Kym
04-06-2011, 9:55pm
If you used the lens wide open and close to the subject the depth of field is VERY shallow at the f/stops indicated.
Also, the main focus for people is always the eyes, IF the eyes are the focal point then you get away with shallow DoF

Post an example so we can comment.

Kym
04-06-2011, 9:58pm
http://www.dofmaster.com/dofjs.html Dial in D7000 50mm f/1.8 and 90cm (3') the DoF is 2.18 cm, but DoF is only 'acceptable' focus, there is only one focal point and that has to be the eyes.

Hawthy
05-06-2011, 8:10am
That is a really useful website, Kym. Thanks.

Pudda, my advice would be to switch to Aperture Priority mode (AV on a Pentax - not sure on a Nikon) and dial in an f-stop of somewhere between f5.6 and f8. According to that natty tool of Kym's, this will increase the "Depth of Field" (or the zone that is acceptably sharp) from 2 cm either side of the focal point to between 4 and 6 cm either side of the focal point. As Kym says, focus on the eyes and you should wind up with most of the subject in focus.

Have fun.

deef
05-06-2011, 9:27am
Hi Pudda,