PDA

View Full Version : online printer suggestions?

Ms Monny
28-05-2011, 11:08pm
Hi all

I have looked at a couple of online printing places but because my image is not the normal size (tall and slimmer than normal) I am finding it hard to get one prints this.

One also said my resolution was too low on one site - I don't know about you but I though that 3066 x 4092 (20.2 MB) and 300 pixels per inch would be a good enough resolution to print??????

Any suggestions?? I am really new to all this pixel sizing, image sizing for printing stuff. I want to print this like Ozzietraveller suggested (but I have toned down the warmth a tad)....

http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showthread.php?84386-Dog-Trap-Road

I @ M
29-05-2011, 4:10am
The missing bit of info is ---

What size do you want it printed?
Those 2 sizes, width x length, will determine which printing companies will be able to do the job.
Those dimensions are best expressed in inches.
The thing to remember here is that printing companies don't just use sheets of paper to print on at larger sizes, they use rolls of paper of varying widths and charge you by the square inch of paper used.
Those paper roll widths generally come in standard sizes, many are geared towards a 4:5 ratio and others may suit the 2:3 ratio that is generally the film / sensor size ratio in 35mm format photos.
I am assuming that you want your image printed larger than the normal 4x6" or 8x12" sizes which are common photo sizes in the 2:3 ratio.

A couple of quick examples and remember the bit about them using paper that comes closest to the shortest dimension in the image.

Image #1.
You want it printed at 16x20" --- the printing company prints it on paper that is 20" wide and covers all the surface area of the paper 16" long.

Image #2