PDA

View Full Version : Photoshop resize

Adrian Fischer
26-05-2011, 11:22am
Hi all,

So Ive got the trial version of PS and am liking it so far. I have a need to resize images for uploading to my website. Photoshop can do it using Scripts>image processor.
I thought this would be great because it creates a new directory within the directory of images (saves as new image with same name) and you just set the size for width and height and regardless of portrait or landscape it resizes the set size on the longest edge. Very smart.

I did a test on 200 images that had already had resolution set to 72. It took 10 minutes!!

I have been using Paint Shop Pro for 10 years. I did the same 200 images using a script I made and it took 5 minutes.

Am I missing something here?
This was on my work machine which is only runing winxp 32 bit. At home on my editing machine Im runing win 7 64bit with 64 bit photoshop. Will that make a difference (Ive not tested at home)

I have an event coming up and I need to resize potentially hundreds of images at a time. Time is of the essence.

edit..irfanview did the same 200 in 3 minutes. Might be the go.
Thoughts?

James T
26-05-2011, 1:00pm
Dunno about the times, but it will depend on what it's doing of course. eg if it's stripping metadata, using fancier algorithms than the other programmes maybe? Have you done a quality comparison between the different outputs?

FWIW I use Lightroom for stuff like that and just export to s specified JPEG size. Never timed it, but I imagine it's quicker than PS opening up each image, resizing it and then saving it again.

EDIT to add: I actually find it easier to get a better looking result for web-sized images using LR compared to PS as well.

kiwi
26-05-2011, 2:20pm
use lightroom :)

Adrian Fischer
26-05-2011, 2:43pm