PDA

View Full Version : D90 and Nikon 35mm f1.8G focusing issue

monsters
21-05-2011, 8:05pm
Hi everyone,

Recently I have bought a nikon 35mm f1.8G lens and I realise that a few of my photo is out of focus. My lens was focus on the subject's face but when the picture came out the subject's face is out-of-focus and you can see that the background is clear.

Is my lens having a focusing issue or there's something wrong my technique/setting or camera.

I am still new to photography. I hope to get some advices from you all

Thanks for your input.

p.s. i will try to post a few photo up as example. By the way, 1st photo , was taken at f2.2, iso250, shutter speed 1/250.
And second wedding image is taken at f2.8, iso200 and at 1/125.

dbax
21-05-2011, 8:26pm
mmm I don't use or know very much about Nikon at all but, the EXIF data on these images show metering mode unknown and focus distance as 0 m. I'm wondering if the camera and lens aren't talking to each other ?
A Nikon user will be along and offer better info before long

EXIF from image #1

Camera Maker: NIKON
Camera Model: *
Image Date: 2009-05-20 00:12:10 (no TZ)
Focal Length: 35.0mm
Focus Distance: 0m
Aperture: f/2.2
Exposure Time: 0.0040 s (1/250)
ISO equiv: 250
Exposure Bias: none
Metering Mode: Unknown
Flash Fired: No
Orientation: Normal
GPS Coordinate: undefined, undefined

monsters
21-05-2011, 8:40pm
Thanks Dave.
Appreciate your help. Will all these info usually comes with the photo?
How can i find out?
I am currently using faststone to view my photos.
Cheers

dbax
21-05-2011, 8:50pm
yep most photos show EXIF data unless its removed by the up loader. To view the data you need to download and install an EXIF reader. There are many available just google exif reader. I use Opanda http://www.opanda.com/en/iexif/

monsters
21-05-2011, 8:58pm
Cheers mate.
I am keen to find out what's wrong with my lens and/or camera or my technique.