PDA

View Full Version : What does photography mean to you?

Milbs1
17-05-2011, 10:26am
I am still a relative newbie to photography (18m) but I don’t think I am being overly dramatic by saying that photography has changed my life.
Pre-photography I was a 30 something, slightly bored mother of 2, with a few friends, who watched a lot of mindless reality tv! Now I have a passion, and wanted to share what photography means to me:-

1. Photography is mine. Its not my hubby's hobby that I tag along to, its not something that the kids do, its mine, for me.
2. I see things differently. I nearly cried on my way to work today. It was the most beautiful sunrise with low level mist and orange cornflake clouds……and I didn't have my camera!
3. Photography gets me out and about to new places. I particularly love the early mornings, and I'm not a morning person! The peacefulness and beauty of a new day takes my breath away.
4. I have a hunger to learn..which means countless hours on the internet browsing wonderful sites like AP!
5. Through photography I have made some AWESOME friends, both real and lots of online people (hopefully they are real too!). I feel like I belong.
6. My house is a mess. It was never particularly clean pre-photography, but now, well just don’t call in unannounced :rolleyes:

I could go on, but I'd love to hear what photography means to you too?

PH005
17-05-2011, 11:53am
I think you have just about said it all, and so well Shirl. It is a passion . It is unlike any other hobby that I can think of. It is one that I have left from time to time but am now here to stay. Greatly in part to AP and the wonderful online friends who keep giving encouragment to keep trying to improve. The scope of photography is as vast as the world itself, and beyond. To me it is "The" hobby. You do belong Shirl. And long may you do.

WhoDo
17-05-2011, 12:10pm