PDA

View Full Version : Storage and Backups of image ideas?

hdn177
15-05-2011, 7:11am
Hi All, Well I wanted to see what ideas and how your currently organizing and storing all your images. I'm only a hobby photographer so I'm sure my small amount of pictures (250gig worth) isn't all that much in comparison to what others need capacity for. Now that i'm mainly shoot in RAW mode, I'm building up multiples of each image also due to PP.

Also now that having a larger mega pixel camera, my images are now alot larger in size and with the capability of many more images available in burst mode at the one shoot, I'm now getting many more than I'm use too. I can see this all filling up and taking over more HDD space quickly.

Currently, I have one of my 2 internal HDD partitioned (500gig) dedicated to only images. I then backup to a portable USB drive(usually kept elsewhere in case something ever happened, robbery/natural disasters/ hardware failure etc) and the laptop gets a copy as well. Fairly simple and I think effective if anything ever goes wrong. This is the same for any other data I want to keep, as well as having the images in lower res uploaded to Flicker, PhotoBucket, FaceBook's etc, there is a few separate backup locations.

The other issue for me is that the family and I are moving to the UK next year and I want to make sure I setup now to move the backups efficiently and can take any important data with me easily and safely.

I'm thinking the best thing to do for now will be to install another internal HDD and get a larger USB backup (without a power supply). We are hoping to sell almsot everything we have (not much :eek:) to reduce the cost of the move. I really only want to take the HDD with me to install into the new pc's when we get there.

After reading a few threads and the AP library, there is plenty of good information already about. So anything to help make this more efficient for the move to another country will help greatly.

Thanks again.

ricktas