PDA

View Full Version : Considering between Canon 5Dmkii & 7D... HELP!

carolb
13-05-2011, 11:26am
Morning all,
I know this has been done to death but I’m in desperate need of help! I currently have a 50D and looking to get a second body as I have a few jobs coming up and at this rate buying another body would be more cost effective than renting another body for each job.
I do mostly, weddings, fashion portraits, family portraits and architecture (diverse yes, but I’m an architect by day hence the interest in architecture :)

Now a pro tog friend has recommended that I was for the 5dmkiii (rumoured to be released by the end of the year- but we’ve all heard that for a while! LOL) and either get teh mkii as the price should drop or the mkiii. Problem is I can’t wait that long to get the second body!
He works for a different camera crew and they find that the 7D doesn't meet their needs for early morning shoots or church shoots (they push it up to 3200iso on their 5ds and tested that with the 7D as well)

So my idea was get the 7D for the interim and when the 5D mkiii is released, sell the 50D and purchase that or the mkii instead. 7D was released not too long ago so fingers crossed they’re not releasing a new one already!
And will purchase the 24-70L f/2.8 to go with it. (Would prob purchase this earlier with the 7D if i go the 7d route now)

Help anyone????.....Thanks!!

Carol B

ElectricImages
13-05-2011, 12:31pm
For architecture work, getting good wide angle images will be VERY important. The full frame on the 5DmkII would allow you to get better wide-angle shots with a 24-70 f/2.8. If you get the 5DmkII now, and the 5DmkIII when it comes out, you'll be able to get good wide-angle shots now and use the same lens on both cameras. If you went with the 7D, you'd have to buy a special EF-S lens for wide-angle work, which wouldn't be compatible with the 5DmkIII when it comes out.

Just something to think about...

Michaela
13-05-2011, 12:42pm