PDA

View Full Version : Looking to get some softboxes

13ulletz
06-05-2011, 4:55pm
Hey,

Looking to get some soft boxes for studio work. I will also be doing on location for car/motorbike.
I have never used one before but have used umbrellas.

has anyone used these? Am i being to stingy and wasteing my time? are they actually decent?
reviews on the page make them look good.

*removed. members with less than 30 days membership and 50 posts cannot post links to anything other than their own personal website : refer to the site rules - rule 19: admin*

Was looking at getting these as an alternative, i know elinchrom have a name for themselves but if i can get away with a decent set for half the cost then why not:th3: Also any comments on this set?

*removed. members with less than 30 days membership and 50 posts cannot post links to anything other than their own personal website : refer to the site rules - rule 19: admin*

looking to spend under 1k.

I @ M
06-05-2011, 5:01pm
Confusing question.

Are you looking to buy lights as well as just the modifiers?

If you already own some lights then that will have an influence on the type of modifiers that you buy.

JM Tran
06-05-2011, 5:03pm
those softboxes are pretty small, good for something like portraits and half body shots primarily. If you want to shoot vehicles I would suggest at least a 150cm to 200cm softbox, for better light spread and wrap around effect. In saying so, bigger softboxes require more powerful strobes to make the most of it. I have a 200cm softbox which is great for full body models and small groups of people, and cars - but sometimes I wish I had more powerful lights than my 500ws strobes atm.

13ulletz
06-05-2011, 5:09pm
Confusing question.

Are you looking to buy lights as well as just the modifiers?

If you already own some lights then that will have an influence on the type of modifiers that you buy.