PDA

View Full Version : What shooting mode is best?

Cullen
01-05-2011, 12:12pm
Hi,

I'm getting a bit confused about which way is best to learn photography from scratch, regarding shooting modes.

I'm really new to photography and am still playing around with settings etc, but I've heard different things. Should I be using a manual setting straight up? Or should I be playing around and learning through the Av and Tv settings first, then 'upgrade' to the manual settings once I get a better handle of things. Or is it just personal preference?

I ask only because I guess I'm trying to find the most efficient way of learning how to get the exposure right as I'm pretty time constrained and really want to learn quickly.

Thanks all!

crf529
01-05-2011, 1:27pm
My take on it is that you should stick with Av when your looking to shoot portrait/landscape type work as you main concern is sharpness and control of DOF. Use the Tv mode when you want to have control over the shutter speed for sports work. And manual mode is easiest to be left alone except when your in a more 'complex' situation such as night photography or studio work with multiple lighting sources.

There is no reason to shoot manual as opposed to Av or Tv modes unless your trying to shoot panoramas/HDR or in some other complex type of situation as mentioned above. Manual isn't an 'upgrade' so much from Av or Tv, just useful in different, less standard situations.

ricktas
01-05-2011, 2:23pm
Have a read of the NTP Library references. It is setup to guide you in how to move from Auto to Manual, in steps. Learning each camera feature by itself will help you understand how each works and how it interacts with the others. Learn slowly and eventually move to full manual.

http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showlibrary.php?title=Indexes:New_To_Photography_Book