PDA

View Full Version : Is the Sigma 10-20mm f/3.5 the lens I need?

NickiNoo02
29-04-2011, 9:43am
I am really new to DSLR photography, I have recently bought a Canon 60D with the 18-55mm kit lens plus a 50mm 1.8 prime lens. I really only take pictures of my kids, they are 11 & 13 yo so are indoors alot of the time.

I am considering what my next lens purchase should be and thought about the Sigma 10-20mm as this fits my budget (around $600).

I'm would really appreciate any feedback or advice anyone has as to best options for lenses for indoors within this budget.

Thanks

Nicole

PH005
29-04-2011, 10:13am
Hi Nicole. I really dont think that the UWA ( ultra wide angle ) is what you are after. Your 50mm 1.8 should be able to do most of your work indoors. I'm gueesing that you want to do some portrait type shots of the kids. My advise for the $600 would be a 430 EXII flash and a good quality tripod. Get an ext cable for the flash so that you can experiment with different angles of light. A good flash will certainly help and you can then easily shoot indoors with your 18-55. With a tripod, YOU can also be in the shot with your kids. Hope this is of some help.

dbax
29-04-2011, 10:16am
Hey Nic,
Firstly let me say I haven't used that lens but, its primarily used by landscapers for its wide angle of view. As such many get the 4/5.6 version as its cheaper and they don't require the faster f stop or narrower DOF for landscapes. Also be aware that it will show significant distortion when used near wide open, so for photographing children its probably not the best option. Many on this forum use the Sigma 10-20, I'm sure some will be along soon with first hand advice and other options.

Kym
29-04-2011, 10:39am
10-20 is great for landscape work. I've used mine for a large group shot at 20mm (but you have that covered already).

I'd probably want longer focal lengths than shorter, eg a 70-300 or something along those lines.

unistudent1962
29-04-2011, 10:49am