PDA

View Full Version : I'm colour blind!!

eloki
10-04-2011, 4:20pm
So I was browsing aimlessly online and came across a color vision test. After going through a dozen similar tests through different websites, turns out I have a degree of red-green colour blindness (always had trouble distinguishing a few colours, e.g. blue & purple).

I wonder if there are any pros who are colour blind...

William
10-04-2011, 4:43pm
No (But not Pro), But I'd guess it would make it difficult on Processing :eek:

fess67
10-04-2011, 4:59pm
I also have a red / green colour blindness. Never knew it until I joined the army!!!

I do not really have a problem with it in day to day life but yes, in processing I find it hard at times and so typically trust the 'auto' setting when it comes to colour corrections. It is also the main reason I did not bother buying things like the Spyder monitor calibration tool. Kinda seemed like a waste of time since the real issue was between the chair and the keyboard - me !!! :) I usually ask my wife to check out colour issues.

mitch2147
11-04-2011, 7:40pm
Sounds like you have Deuteranopia (red green). I have that, and there are no benefits to being colour blind apart from messing with people eg saying the grass is red etc.

It limits career choices as well. I applied for the police, fire brigade and army but couldn't get in.

fess67
11-04-2011, 8:41pm
It limits career choices as well. I applied for the police, fire brigade and army but couldn't get in.

I got into the army but it did limit the branches I could apply for. Ended up Artillery, now I cannot hear well either!!! :D

farmer_rob
11-04-2011, 8:51pm
I'm slightly colourblind (and not pro). I don't think it makes pp harder - but don't ask me to choose a paint colour or web colour scheme:eek:.

selaw
15-04-2011, 6:38pm
Sounds like you have Deuteranopia (red green).