PDA

View Full Version : What information do you look for?

Dave Clifford
06-04-2011, 8:41am
If you were reading your favorite photography related magazine and you happen to have an interest in motorsport, what sort of information / questions would you be looking to be answered. i.e. an article about one of the leading photographers in that field, what would you ask them or would like them to explain/discuss in the article?

As some of you know, I am undertaking a freelance writers course (and Bachelor of Comms starts in May) and this question has to do with one of the assignments so any help, comments would be greatly appreciated.

Kym
06-04-2011, 8:52am
As a photographer I'd like to know the technical set-up (Camera, Lens, Exposure etc), plus the techniques used (panning, lighting and so forth).
Petrol heads will want to know about the chic in the photo then the size of the engine etc. :D

Dave Clifford
06-04-2011, 9:55am
As a photographer I'd like to know the technical set-up (Camera, Lens, Exposure etc), plus the techniques used (panning, lighting and so forth).
Petrol heads will want to know about the chic in the photo then the size of the engine etc. :D

Thanks Kym,

Just the sort of information I am looking for, I am working on a pitch to a magazine and realised it is not about what 'I' would like to know but should be about what others would like to 'Learn' from reading the article (should it happen to go ahead).

fillum
06-04-2011, 11:12am
David I think it depends on your target audience. An article for amateurs should (imo) be different to an article for emerging pros. As an amateur I'd prefer an article to show how to get good shots using basic equipment (say a 70-300 on a D3000 or similar), and give tips on good locations and angles to shoot from when you don't have accreditation/passes. I'll usually quickly browse an article before reading it, and if I find it tells me I need (for example) a 300/2.8 on a D3s then it is likely to lose me at that point.