PDA

View Full Version : Looking to Purchase

GenesisInc
05-04-2011, 1:38pm
Hi Folks,

I am looking at getting a dSLR camera, and I thought I would see you guys for some advice.

As I am new to SLR technology, I thought I would get an entry level camera, and was wondering if the one below is a good camera to get (inclidung the selected lenses).

I prefer to take photos of Landscapes and Animals, if that helps. I am also currently using a Nikon L110 Coolpix Camera (but I don't like the fact the whole camera is automatic controls)

*removed - do not post images you have not taken, on Ausphotography*

lay-z
05-04-2011, 3:29pm
Not to be critical but asking what camera to buy is somewhat similar to asking "What car should I buy?" Applying the same logic - ask yourself these questions:

What do I want to photograph?
It's rare for beginners to know exactly what they want to photograph from the word GO - everyone loves to experiment with different genres and diciplines before finding out what they enjoy most. Using the car analogy, it'll be asking yourself - Do I want to go offroading or a grand tourer or a stripped out race car or just need to get to A to B? In your instance, you've stated landscapes and animals which will require two types of lenses - a wide angle for land scapes and a telephoto for animals (and perhaps even a macro for the smaller critters!)

What's your budget?
There's no point splurging $10,000+ on all the best and greatest gear if you are going to live on 2 minute noodles for the next 2 years to pay off a loan/credit card. At the end of the day, only spend what you can justify spending - even if it means you have to make a compromise in the gear you want. This leads to the next question

What research have I done?