PDA

View Full Version : Equipment recommendations for Interior/Real Estate Photography

Adrienne
03-04-2011, 6:57pm
Hi everyone, I was wondering if any of you had an opinion on gear needed for interior design/real estate photography. I am studying at the moment but this is the field I would like to go into. I have a Nikon D5000 and already have a Sigma 10-20mm.
Lighting is an issue and so far all I can tell is some speedlights. Would you recommend more than one camera?
What other lenses?
And any other peripherals that you would suggest I would really appreciate! I plan on slowly stocking up before I get started professionally.

Thanks all,
Adrienne

I @ M
03-04-2011, 7:09pm
As a minimum way to compete with the established interior design / real estate photographers ( staying with Nikon which is a wise move of course :) ) I would put together a kit comprising of a D3X (http://www.nikon.com.au/productitem.php?pid=1301-f2eb133ecb) , the 24mm (http://www.nikon.com.au/productitem.php?pid=1216-1389f369ef) and 45mm (http://www.nikon.com.au/productitem.php?pid=1247-8dc5cf61eb) PC-E lenses and 3 or more SB-900 (http://www.nikon.com.au/productitem.php?pid=1251-99a734bdd1) speedlights.

That lot should take care of around $25,000.00 and then of course you need all the expenses of any business ( insurances etc ) to just get started.

ricktas
03-04-2011, 7:10pm
I would recommend investigating the real estate photography market first. There is VERY little money to be made. Many real estate agencies are paying less than $100.00 per property, this includes travel time, costs, and editing of the photos.