PDA

View Full Version : First attempt at HDR

Pat Redmond
28-03-2011, 11:12am
Hi Guys,
This is my first attempt at a HDR image. I took the photo at about 6pm. While it was very overcast, the sky was still bright enough to be blown-out when the street was well exposed. I handheld and shot 3 frames (-3, 0, +3) at rapid. Then I merged them.

Is there a secret to getting them looking as good as the pros?

http://static.365project.org/1/1222542_demnpquv26_l.jpg

pixelwhip
28-03-2011, 5:19pm
+/- 3 is a pretty big jump in exposures, exp. when shooting handheld... what i do.

1) shoot aperture priorty. & check your shutter speed for your scene. adjust +/- 1 exposures & do some quick math..

if your aperture is 1/100 sec then your other expsoures will be will = 1/50 for -1 & 1/200 for +1 ..

also try to keep your ISO as low as possible as HDR rendering introduces alot of grain.

hope this helps.

smylie
29-03-2011, 9:50am
A pretty good attempt for first time and the image looks natural. Nice saturated colours and good detail and no halos or ghosting - very good for handheld.

I think the secret to HDR is practice. Shoot more and try some different setting in the processing of your image.

As Pixelwhip says you have used a pretty big jump in your exposures, maybe try shooting more images, say 5 exposures, with only one stop intervals. You don't have to use all the exposures in the processing but it gives you a little more range when processing.

I look forward to your next attempt.

Cheers :)

Pat Redmond
30-03-2011, 12:18pm
Thanks for the tips guys! My camera (50D) only seems to have an option for bracketing 3 shots, so to do 5 I would need to manually change exposure - which would rule out handheld. Unless there is another trick...?

I will have a play and upload another photo.

Ms Monny
30-03-2011, 1:20pm
Check your camera because I am sure that you can bracket at a lower +/-