PDA

View Full Version : Council sponsered photo shoot

chris_m
25-03-2011, 4:03pm
I have been approached by a local council arts officer to photograph a local event in a few weeks time.
The event will take about 1 1/2 hours to cover plus I expect a few hours more to select & process images and then provide the selected images to them.

My concern is that I am a hobbyist photographer and although it is always nice to make a few dollars as I go along, am I taking income from the photographer(s) that are usually employed by the council to cover this type of event?

Or should I just go with the flow and make a few dollars.

There is also the caveat "I dont have a lot of dollars", so they may be expecting that I do the job for beer money!

mudman
25-03-2011, 4:39pm
I would suggest that you get the money details sorted out BEFORE the shoot.
it is not your fault you got the work. the council approached you, which is tough luck for other photographers.
also you are not a charity institution and their ' we don't have a lot of maney' could be a ruse to make you feel guilty
about charging what the job is worth.
cheers

chris_m
25-03-2011, 4:59pm
Thanks Mudman, I reckon if I was to do the work I would expect a minimum of $300 for my time. My rough totally uninformed estimate of what a pro would charge would be in the $500 area for 3 hours work I reckon.
I am quite comfortable in providing good quality work with editing if required, so I have no intention of selling myself short.

Scotty72
25-03-2011, 5:33pm
Remember the 'worth' of the photos is not based on your time only.

Among other considerations ought to be the worth of your photos to the council / what are they using them for / who holds copyright etc?

For example: if the council intends to sell you prints as postcards / in a book or; if they use your pics as a part of a tourism campaign (or what ever)...

If this is the case, the $300 is less than peanuts.