PDA

View Full Version : business models for sports photography

spasmoid
24-03-2011, 4:50pm
Are there any sports photographers here?

I'd like to know what some of the best ways to make money from sports photography are. I'm not particularly fussy as to which sport, as long as I can photograph some interesting drama.

I've had some experience shooting beach volleyball, surfing, rugby, swimming, and polocrosse.

I appreciate that I can probably stumble my way through and eventually make enough money to justify time/effort/expenditure, but I don't have the luxury of too much time/effort/expenditure with mouths to feed on the home front. So I am looking for ways to get returns on investment relatively efficiently. I appreciate that there is always some cost/investment up-front. I just don't want that to blow out.

Help and shared experiences appreciated.

ricktas
24-03-2011, 5:01pm
I would suggest starting at local club level and working up. You will find that the big photographic companies have often tied the higher end of sports into contractual agreements and they are vigorous at ensuring their turf is not threatened. There are certainly some photographic companies out there, in the sports genre, who actively send legal letters out if others encroach on their areas.

So find some clubs, chat to the committee and see what you can get, but be aware there are a lot of others out there doing the same and you might get quite a few knock-backs before a positive response.

Seems like you want a 'fast way in', there isn't one, unless you suck up to the media organisations that control the top levels and get in the door that way, and then you shoot for them and lose your copyright over your photos to them.

junqbox
24-03-2011, 5:01pm
Taking photo's of sportspeople in compromising positions would probably be the most lucrative.

kiwi
24-03-2011, 6:05pm
To be blunt there is no money to be made that will pay back your time, effort and the cost of your gear