PDA

View Full Version : What is the best rate to pay a contract photographer??

TwitchyVision
23-03-2011, 10:48am
Hi all,

I'm a Real Estate photographer currently into my second year of operation. I am presently in line to pick up some new contracts which will see me absolutely flat out and requiring an additional photographer. ** I am not posting a job, as I already have someone lined up for the work. **

My question is, what is the right amount to pay the contractor, who is operating as a sole trader, just starting out in the photography industry?

All that I will be requiring from the additional photographer is to look after one client in particular who will produce a high volume of work (11 - 20 properties per week) while i take care of the rest. The photographer will go in, do the shoots, bring the images back to my administrator who will then edit all the images, forward to the client and invoice.

The client is charged a "per property" rate.

Is there a rule of thumb on what to pay such contractors? Do i pay them a percentage of the property rate or do i pay a day or weekly rate based on the amount of properties that get shot as it may vary? Obviously, as this is my business I still need to make money from it; but how much is appropriate?

Thanks in advance for all your help! :th3:

Kym
23-03-2011, 10:57am
:gday: & Welcome - lets see some images in the main CC forums (http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/forumdisplay.php?5-.-CONSTRUCTIVE-CRITIQUE-Members-Photos-.) and have fun!
If you want to meet other members then check the Forums / Community / Groups link; also the meet-ups forums!
Also you may wish to have a browse of our new and evolving Library. (http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showlibrary.php)

My take would be to work out how long it takes to do each job on average, plus travel time and then pay based on an hourly rate for that time.

PS: I moved your thread here from Intros.

William
23-03-2011, 10:57am